Accession A2015-105 - David Bergen accrual

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

David Bergen accrual

General material designation

  • Textual record
  • Graphic material

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

CA UMASC MSS 257-A2015-105

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1971-2014 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

.88 m. of textual & photographic material

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

David Bergen was born on January 14, 1957 in Port Edward, BC. He graduated from Red River Community College with a journalism degree in 1980 and a B.Ed. from the University of Winnipeg in 1985. He currently resides in Winnipeg with his wife Mary and their four children. Bergen has gained a notable reputation in his writing career. His first book, Sitting Opposite My Brother is a collection of short stories and was published in 1993 by Turnstone Press. This book was short-listed for the Manitoba Book of the Year Award. That year he also was named Manitoba’s most promising writer. Five stories in Sitting With My Brother were broadcast on the CBC program “Between the Covers.” In 1995, the Bravo Television Network produced his short story Bottom of the Glass. His second book, A Year of Lesser, was published by Harper Collins and was named a New York Times Notable Book in 1997 and winner of the McNally Robinson book of the Year Award. In 1999, Harper Collins published his third title, See the Child. His fourth book, The Case of Lena S., was published in 2002 by McClelland & Stewart. His fifth book, The Time in Between, was published by McClelland & Stewart in 2005 and won Bergen the Scotia Bank Giller Prize. His sixth and latest book The Retreat, published by McClelland & Stewart in 2008, was also nomiated for the Giller Prize. Throughout the 1990s a number of Bergen’s stories have been published in a variety of magazines. In 2000, Bergen won the Canadian Literary Award for Short Story. In 2010 he was short listed for a third Giller Prize & an International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award for his sixth novel The Matter with Morris. His novel The Age of Hope was part of the Canada Reads competition defended by Ron MacLean in 2013.

Custodial history

The fonds were donated by David Bergen in 2015

Scope and content

The fonds contain 7 series. They include: mauscripts, short stories, poetry & articles, book reviews. publicity articles & awards, correspondence, research material, photographs & oversize (map cabinet)

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Language and script note


Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

One royalty file has been restricted

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

One royalty file has been restricted

Finding aids

Associated materials

Nothing was removed.

Related materials


Further accruals are expected.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres