Affichage de 1579 résultats

fichier d'autorité

University of Manitoba Medical Library

  • Collectivité
  • 1889-

The Neil John MacLean Health Sciences Library, a state-of-the-art facility incorporating the resources of the previous Medical Library, the Neilson Dental Library, and the Health Sciences Centre Nursing Library, supports the teaching, research, and patient care requirements of the staff and students of the Faculties of Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing (HSC program), and the schools of Dental Hygiene and Medical Rehabilitation.

Manitoba Eastern European Heritage Society

  • meehs
  • Collectivité
  • 1986-

The Manitoba Eastern European Heritage Society is a group of researchers inspired by a desire for knowledge of the architectural history as well as mutual concern for the spiritual future of Eastern European churches in Manitoba. The principal members of the Society are Stella Hryniuk, Basil Rotoff, and Roman Yereniuk. These three researchers, on behalf of the Manitoba Eastern European Heritage Society, received funding from the Historic Resources Branch of Manitoba Culture, Heritage and Recreation to travel around Manitoba documenting the architecture, art, and history of the province’s Ukrainian Byzantine-rite churches.

The group identified 140 Ukrainian Catholic and Orthodox churches across the province, plus an additional twenty Eastern European Churches. They documented eighty churches, taking into consideration the condition of the churches, prominent architectural features, and the scattered distribution of churches across the province. The project began in 1986 and with the help of student researchers was completed in 1990 with the publication of the book “Monuments to Faith: Ukrainian Churches in Manitoba.”

Stella Hryniuk taught in the Department of History at the University of Manitoba; Roman Yereniuk was an Associate professor of Religion and Theology at St. Andrew’s College; Basil Rotoff was a professor and Senior Scholar in the Department of City Planning, Faculty of Architecture, at the University of Manitoba.

Let's Sing Out with Joni Mitchell

  • Collectivité
  • 1965-1966

"Let's Sing Out" is a television program hosted by Oscar Brand that originated on CTV in 1964, before moving to the CBC in 1966.

Faculty of Law

  • facultyoflaw
  • Collectivité
  • [ca.1860] -

The University of Manitoba first became involved in legal education in 1885 when it established a three-year course of studies leading to the LL.B. degree. This course did not include instruction, it simply prescribed a reading program with three annual examinations, which articled law students couId follow concurrently with the course prescribed by the Law Society. In the years 1911-1912, the Law Society was prompted by the Law Students Association to provide a short series of lectures. In 1913, H.A. Robson, then Manitoba's Public Utilities Commissioner and a former judge of the Court of King's Bench, organized a considerably improved course of lectures and began to lay the plans for the establishment in the following year of a permanent law school modeled after the Osgoode Hall Law School of the Law Society of Upper Canada.

The Manitoba Law School was jointly sponsored by The University of Manitoba and the Law Society of Manitoba. Both bodies took part in the planning from the beginning. In the summer of 1914, they entered into an agreement, subsequently endorsed by legislation, which provided for the creation of the School, offering a three-year course consisting of lectures and apprenticeship leading to both an LL.B. degree and a call to the Bar and admission to practice. Expenses of the School were shared equally by the two parent bodies, and its operations were supervised by a jointly appointed Board of Trustees. This arrangement between The University of Manitoba and the Law Society of Manitoba continued until 1966 when the Law School became the Faculty of Law of the University of Manitoba.

The Faculty of Law presently offers programs of study leading to two degrees, the LL.B. and the LL.M. The latter degree program was brought into existence in 1949 by the Manitoba Law School. It was substantially revamped by the Faculty of Law in 1968.

National Research Centre Bid Committee

  • CA UMASC MSS 407, EL 72 (A13-127)
  • Collectivité
  • 2009-2013

In 2007, the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement required that the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) establish a National Research Centre (NRC) to continue to inform Canadians about the Residential School system and assist in a process of reconcilliation. The NRC
is to house: thousands of hours of video- and-audio recorded survivor statements; millions of archival documents and photographs the TRC has collected from the Government of Canada and Canadian church entities including,the United Church, Catholic Church, Presbyterian Church and Anglican Church;
works of art, artifacts and other "expressions of reconciliation" presented at TRC events; lastly, all records pertaining to the research and activities undergone by the TRC over the life of its five-year mandate.

Beginning in 2009, the NRC Bid Committee at the University of Manitoba developed a proposal spanning over two years with a team of scholars, students and staff, many of whom have family members who are survivors, working together as allies on campus. The proposal, "National Research Centre on Indian Residential Schools" was submitted to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission by the University of Manitoba on February 16th, 2012. The proposal includes: a vision; 'who we are'; aboriginal support; a governance model; archival expertise and facilities; privacy and access; technical excellence and interactivity; employment and education; commemoration; public engagement; proximity to Aboriginal population; accessibility; financial stability; timeline and a conclusion.

The NRC Bid Committee included: Co-Chair Dr. Laara Fitznor (Nisichawayasihk Cree Nation), education professor; Co-Chair Dr. Jean Friesen, history professor; Deborah Young (Cree), executive lead for Indigenous achievement; Dr. Marlene Atleo (Ahousaht First Nation member), education professor; Dr. Greg Bak, professor in the master's program in archival studies, history department; Prof. Karen Busby, law professor and academic director, Centre for Human Rights Research; Camille Callison (Tahltan), Indigenous services librarian, assisted in the final stages of drafting the submission after joining the University of Manitoba in January 2012. Callison brings her experience in organizing, preserving and providing access to traditional knowledge; Helen Fallding, manager of the Centre for Human Rights Research; Dr. Rainey Gaywish (Cree-Anishinabe), a program director in Aboriginal Focus and Access Programs; Dr. Kiera Ladner (Cree), Canada Research Chair in Indigenous politics and governance; Dr. Tom Nesmith, professor in the master's program in archival studies, history department; Dr. Fred Shore (Metis), Native studies professor; Kali Storm (Anishinaabe/Metis), director of the Aboriginal Student Centre; Dr. Shelley Sweeney, head of Archives & Special Collections, the Libraries; Professor Wendy Whitecloud(Sioux Valley Dakota Nation), law.

On National Aboriginal Day, June 21st 2013 the National Research Centre Signing Ceremony took place at the University of Manitoba. This event was to recognize the University of Manitoba as the permanent host of the NRC to house the video- and- audio recorded statements, records and other materials gathered by the TRC over its five -year mandate. Since the acceptance of the Univeristy of Manitoba as the home of the NRC, the NRC bid committee has achieved its goal and has since disbanded and donated their records to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections.

Winnipeg Spiritualist Church

  • MSS 425 (A13-139)
  • Collectivité
  • [1952]-2012

The Winnipeg Spiritualist Church, also known as the Winnipeg Psychic Society, was a small congregation that existed in Winnipeg from the date of its founding by Reverend Evan Clarke, among others, in the early 1950s until its dispersal in 2012. In its early years, the congregation was called The Spiritualist Church of Divine Truth; its name was changed to the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church in 1954, and also came to be known as a society in the 1960s. In 1984 the name Winnipeg Spiritualist Church was re-adopted, as well as incorporated, and the name Winnipeg Psychic Society became a name notation for the church. Upon its founding, the objectives of the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church were defined as the advancement and promotion of the religion of Spiritualism in Southern Manitoba, the education of future healers and demonstrators of Spiritualism, furtherance of the works of the Spiritualistic Society, and a commitment to charitable works. The church and its members upheld and promoted a belief in the seven principles of Spiritualism: 1) The Fatherhood of God; 2) The Brotherhood of man; 3) The communion of spirits and the ministry of angels; 4) The continuous existence of the human soul; 5) Personal responsibility; 6) Compensation and retribution hereafter for all good and evil deeds done on Earth and 7) Eternal progress open to every human soul. The small congregation did their best to further develop the Spiritualist community in Winnipeg by holding annual psychic teas, hosting classes or workshops on topics such as clairvoyant development, palmistry, symbology, dream interpretation, past life regression or spiritual evolution, and by hiring visiting mediums, such as Gaye Muir, to attend the church and exhibit evidence of psychic phenomena and life after death.

The Winnipeg Spiritualist Church was originally located on Notre Dame Avenue in Winnipeg, and moved to a building at 293 Kennedy Street in the early 1980s , followed by a move to 295 Broadway in 1986. In the autumn of 1989 the small congregation purchased the building at 1551 Arlington, and, after many months of renovations, held the Grand Opening Ceremony of the new building on Dec. 3, 1989. Services at the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church were held twice on Sundays; one service in the morning and another in the evening. In addition, a healing service was held on Sunday mornings. Services consisted of a combination of aura cleansing and energizing, guided meditation, healing, the presence of clairvoyants, singing of hymns or worshipful songs, and a message in accordance with the principles agreed upon by the church, in an effort to promote and expand the understanding of Spiritualism. The small church, numbering approximately 20-80 members throughout the years, survived financially upon the generous donations of its members, one of whom accepted the mortgage of the church building at 1551 Arlington under her own name. Also conducive to the financial stability of the church were social hours, workshops, demonstrations, evenings of clairvoyance, annual psychic teas and other fundraisers hosted by the church and its members for small costs, as well as the fees paid yearly by members of the church. A Board of Directors made up of 5-9 members led the church. The leadership positions were filled by members of the church, and were newly voted upon and elected by fellow members of the congregation each year. Aside from membership disputes in 1992, relationships between the members and leaders of the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church were harmonious. The positions of leadership changed hands often until the election of Reverend Linda Zagozewski as president of the congregation in 1989; Zagozewski was a board member and/or president of the small church from 1986 until her death in 2005. After the death of Zagozewski, her husband Reverend Duncan Wilson became president of the small church until his own death in 2012. Without anyone to carry forward the role of leadership in the dwindling congregation, the remaining members chose to disperse the funds, library materials and records of the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church to the Survival Research Institute of Canada and the Universty of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections, among other organizations. The hopes of the members upon the dispersal of the Winnipeg Spiritualist Church were that the funds and materials of the church donated to various institutions would be carried forward in the furtherance of research and the understanding of Spiritualism.

Manitoba Libraries Association

  • Collectivité

In 1975, the Manitoba Libraries Association (MLA) began a grassroots campaign to increase library funding in the province. This campaign, entitled "Libraries in Crisis", was begun in response to the provincial government's cancellation of The Parkland Regional Pilot Project in Dauphin, an initiative that would have improved library services in Dauphin. The MLA sought to publicize the provincial government's neglect of public libraries, especially in rural Manitoba. The campaign utilized political lobbying and newspaper advertisements to publicize their position. Organizers believed "Libraries in Crisis" to be a qualified success as it raised public awareness of library funding in the province but that due to its small number of participants lacked the sustained pressure to enable systemic change in the province's library system.

Manitoba Music Option Board

  • Collectivité
  • 1923-

Formed in 1923, the Manitoba Music Option Board was a body of musicians chosen by the Manitoba Department of Education, together with representatives of the Department of Education, the University Council, and the President of the Manitoba Music Teachers' Association. The object of the Board was to conduct Music Option Examinations in the High Schools, to extend the same throughout the University, and to establish and maintain a Manitoba standard in music by conducting Manitoba examinations for Manitoba students by Manitoba examiners.

Public Affairs Department

  • Collectivité

The Public Affairs department coordinates a wide range of communications, marketing, and information services designed to enhance public awareness of the University of Manitoba in the province, throughout Canada, and internationally.

Ukrainian National Home Association

  • Collectivité
  • 1929-2011

The need to establish a “people's” or “national” home (narodnyi dim) had been a pressing issue in Winnipeg’s rapidly expanding Ukrainian community since 1905. Patterned on institutions in the old country, the “national home” was to comprise an auditorium, stage, and office space, where the city’s Ukrainian cultural-educational societies could store their books and property; hold meetings, public lectures and rehearsals; offer literacy and Ukrainian heritage classes; undertake various educational programs; stage concerts and plays; and host commemorative and social events. Several unsuccessful attempts to establish an institution of this kind ensued, but the final impetus came in the fall of 1912 when new municipal fire safety bylaws banned the staging of plays in wooden halls and the costs of renting theatrical venues soared. Accordingly, in October 1912, the by-laws of the “Ukrainian National Home Association of Winnipeg, Manitoba” were prepared at a meeting held in the Ss. Vladimir and Olga parish hall on McGregor Street and Stella Avenue. The original by-laws stipulated that all Ukrainians, "regardless of their religious or political views," could become members, and that the property of the UNHA "shall never pass under the jurisdiction of any party or sect." In March 1913, at a general meeting attended by more than 200 people, the by-laws were adopted and Taras D. Ferley, a prominent community activist, educator, businessman, and soon to be Manitoba’s first Ukrainian MLA (Independent Liberal, Gimli, 1915-20) was elected the UNHA’s first president, a position he would hold for 24 of the next 35 years.
From the outset, the UNHA was challenged by the Ukrainian Catholic clergy and the church’s press, who feared that an organization led by laymen and open to Ukrainians of all religious denominations would undermine the faith of their parishioners. Support for the UNHA came from the teachers, students, cultural activists and small businessmen around the staunchly secular, national-populist weekly Ukrainskyi holos (Ukrainian Voice) established in 1910. The three largest Ukrainian educational and drama circles in the city - the resolutely non-denominational Boyan Drama Society (led by Semen Kowbel, Maksim Pasichniak and Wasyl Swystun), as well as the Maria Zankovetska Educational and Drama Society (led by Ivan (John) Tracz and Petro Yundak), and the Ivan Kotliarevsky Drama Society (led by Wasyl Kazanivsky), both embroiled in acrimonious disputes with the St. Nicholas and the Ss. Vladimir and Olga Ukrainian Catholic parishes – also affiliated with the UNHA. During the next 3 years, between 1913 and 1916, all 3 societies made generous donations to the new association. Student groups composed of young men who taught in rural English-Ukrainian bilingual schools in the spring and summer and attended fall and winter classes at the university, also welcomed the UNHA, as did the Ukrainian (Ruthenian) Teachers' Association, which would hold many of its annual provincial meetings in the UNHA building (1916-28).
In the fall of 1915 the UNHA organized its first series of public lectures at Jastremsky's Hall (south-east corner of Stella Avenue and McGregor Street). During the summer of 1916 the association held the first of many annual picnics at Lister Park on the Red River, 8 miles north of the city. It also obtained permission from the Winnipeg School Board to hold Ukrainian Heritage School (ridna shkola) classes, taught by graduates and students of the recentlyabolished Ruthenian Training School, in nearby public schools, on weekday
mornings, during July and August. Subsequently, Ukrainian Heritage School classes would be offered in the UNHA building almost every year until the early 1970s: first during the summer months, when up to 90 children attended, and later on two or three weekday evenings during the school year when 50 to 60attended. The first teacher Yuri (George) Genik, died tragically during the 1918 influenza epidemic. His successors included Mykhailo Kumka and Eustace Wasylyshyn, who taught in 1925 when enrolment peaked at 148; Mrs. Irene
Gayowsky, a veteran public school teacher, who taught the UNHA classes from 1940 through 1958; Dr. Maryna Rudnycka (1958-60), and Mrs. Natalia Bashuk (1960-69) . During the 1920s the UNHA also sponsored children’s orchestras conducted by Wasyl Parasiuk.
Denied support and often criticized by the Ukrainian Catholic church and clergy, the UNHA abandoned its dream of erecting a grand building with a large theatre and auditorium, and in 1916 settled for purchasing a much smaller two-story structure at 582-590 Burrows Avenue and McGregor Street, opposite the Strathcona public school. The brick building, constructed in 1910, cost just under $20,000 and occupied 3 lots. It had 25 small rooms on the top floor, and one small hall, plus accommodation for five organizations or small enterprises, on the ground floor. While the building satisfied the storage and meeting place needs of more than a dozen community organizations, and afforded ample space for lectures, meetings, heritage classes and rehearsals, Winnipeg’s first Ukrainian theatrical venues – the impressive pro-communist Ukrainian Labour Temple building and the more austere pro-Catholic Canadian-Ukrainian Institute Prosvita hall – would be constructed within a few blocks of the building by the UNHA’s competitors in 1919 and 1922.
The UNHA’s grand opening ceremonies were attended by more than 2,000 people who gathered on 24 September 1916. The association’s early years witnessed steady growth and consolidation. By 1919 the UNHA claimed over 300 individual dues-paying members and almost 20 affiliated cultural organizations. The three drama circles, which provided the Association with funds and most of its members, continued to focus, almost exclusively, on their own theatrical agendas until 1922, when they finally amalgamated with the UNHA and reconstituted themselves in one unified Ukrainian National Home Choral and Dramatic Society. Directors/conductors during the interwar years, the “golden age” of Ukrainian-Canadian amateur theatrical and choral activity, included Petro Yundak, Maksim Pasichniak, Eugene Turula, Yuri (George) Tsukornyk, Mykhailo Levak and Dr. Paul Macenko.
The burden of planning and carrying out programs unrelated to the performing arts fell on the shoulders of the association's executive. The fall and winter lecture series, and Ukrainian heritage classes, became the mainstays of cultural-educational activity. Other programs were sporadic. In 1916-17, English-language classes taught by university graduates were offered; a Ukrainian Women's Educational Society (Ukrainske prosvitne zhinoche tovarystvo), which worked with children, offered embroidery classes, and organized social events, including dances, masquerades and picnics, was established in December 1916, but faltered after a few years; and a library open to the general public two evenings and one afternoon each week was launched by the Boyan Society in 1918 but did not become firmly established until the mid-1920s. The Ukrainian Red Cross of Canada, established in 1919 to raise funds on behalf of countrymen in western Ukrainian regions (part of Poland and Romania during the interwar years) that had been devastated by war and natural catastrophes, also had its headquarters at the UNHA.
After a second women's organization, the Women's Assembly (Zhinocha hromada), established in 1922, faltered, it was replaced in 1926 by the Ukrainian Ladies’ Society of Lesia Ukrainka (Zhinoche tovarystvo im. Lesi Ukrainky) which proved to be much more resilient. Mrs. Natalia Ferley was the first president. In 1927 the society sponsored a “Ukrainian Night/Soiree” with dances supervised by newly-arrived dance master Vasile Avramenko. Ultimately, the ladies’ society sponsored an organization for young women, participated in drama and choral circles, sponsored lectures, and did volunteer work on behalf of the Canadian Red Cross during the Second World War and the Community Chest Organization in the post-war era. It remained active until the 1990s.
Another successful early initiative was the Ukrainian Relief Association (Vzaimna Pomich), a fraternal sickness and death benefit society established in November 1921. The association’s by-laws were drawn up by UNHA president Taras D. Ferley and members Ivan (John) Tracz, who would serve as UNHA president from 1948 until 1967, and Paul Popiel. Open to all Ukrainians 16 to 45 years of age, irrespective of religious and political views, the Relief Association obtained a Dominion charter in February 1925 and by 1928 it had 843 members (including 540 in Winnipeg) in 22 branches all across Canada. At its February 1943 national convention in Winnipeg the Association adopted a new charter and by-laws in accordance with the requirements of the Dominion of Canada Insurance Act. Simultaneously the association was renamed the Ukrainian Fraternal Society of Canada (UFS), began to sell life insurance, and was put on a sound actuarial basis. Ivan Tracz, UNHA president at the time, also served as president of the UFS from 1948 to 1958 and held various executive positions until the mid-1960s. The UFS offices were housed in the UNHA building from 1921 until June 1969, when they moved to newly constructed premises one block south at 235 McGregor Street and Magnus Avenue.
In 1929 UNHA leaders founded the Ukrainian People’s Home Association (Stovaryshennia ukrains’kyi narodnyi dim; SUND). An umbrella organization, it was established to provide ideological direction and to enrich local centralizing and coordinating the work of Ukrainian national homes and community organizations with similar objectives all across Canada. Although several score local organizations joined, the new entity’s activity was relatively sluggish and poorly documented. The first attempt to chronicle UNHA activity, including that of the SUND, culminated in 1949 with the publication of the UNHA’s massive commemorative book – Propamiatna knyha Ukrains’koho narodnoho domu u Vynypegu – edited by a team led by the distinguished Ukrainian émigré historian Dmytro Doroshenko, who resided in Winnipeg for a few years after the Second World War. Featuring articles by UNHA and SUND founders and activists from all across Canada, the book remains an important source for the study of Ukrainian-Canadian history, popular culture and community organizations during the first half of the twentieth century Organizations affiliated with the UNHA during the postwar years included the Ukrainian Male Chorus of Winnipeg conducted by Walter Bohonos, which was headquartered at and sponsored by the association for most of its existence (1944-71); the Ukrainian Free Academy of Arts and Sciences in Canada, which presented many of its public lectures at the UNHA and whose offices, library and archives were housed in the association’s building from about 1949 to the early 1970s; the Kateryna Antonovych School of Art, directed first by the renowned painter and art historian (1884-1975), and after her death by her pupil Marika Onufrijchuk-Sokulski; and the Hoosli Ukrainian Male Chorus, which made the UNHA its home base in 1984, shortly after one of its members, Fred Mykytyshyn, became the UNHA’s last president (1982-2010).
The UNHA continued to play a role in promoting Ukrainian education and scholarship during the post war years. From 1952 it awarded a modest annual scholarship to students who excelled in Ukrainian language and literature at the University of Manitoba; in 1983 the executive established a scholarship fund to assist post-secondary students whose parents were UNHA members; and between 1983 and 1993, the UNHA provided the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies (CUCS) at the University of Manitoba with endowments totaling about $60,000. Dr. Natalia Aponiuk, director of the CUCS, was also a long-time member of the UNHA board of directors. The Centre’s Ukrainian-language course was occasionally taught off-campus at the UNHA building, and some of the endowment funds were also earmarked for scholarships and other programs.
As the UNHA’s membership aged and diminished after 1960 commemorative celebrations highlighting the association’s past accomplishments became frequent. The UNHA’s 50th (1960), 60th (1972), 70th (1983), 75th (1988), 80th (1993) and 90th (2003) anniversaries were celebrated with banquets attended by municipal and provincial dignitaries. The Ladies’ Society of Lesia Ukrainka celebrated its 60th anniversary in 1986. In 1988, the UNHA with assistance from the City of Winnipeg Parks and Recreation Department, unveiled a small monument honouring poet Taras Shevchenko, featuring text in English and Ukrainian, in tiny “Shevchenko Park” at the southwest corner of McGregor Street and Burrows Avenue, directly across the street from the UNHA. During the early 1980s a new banquet hall was also added to the UNHA building and the Selo/Village lounge and beverage room was opened for members and guests. To mark the 80th anniversary a second, smaller, bi-lingual commemorative book – Ukrainian National Home/Ukrains’kyi narodnyi dim – was published in 1993.
In 2010 Fred Mykytyshyn, the UNHA’s long-serving president passed away unexpectedly. As membership numbers were declining, and the UNHA was no longer financially viable, the membership voted to dissolve the Association at a special meeting in the spring of 2011. At this meeting, it was decided to donate the Association’s archives and library holdings to the University of Manitoba Archives, and to the Slavic Collection, Elizabeth Dafoe Library, respectively. In addition, the membership voted to establish an archival fund and a scholarship at the University.

Faculty of Arts

  • Collectivité
  • 1921-

The first instruction in Arts was offered in English, History and Political Economy in 1910. By 1914, bachelor degrees were offered in Arts and in Science, and in 1921 the University established faculties in Arts and Science, Engineering, and Architecture with each faculty governed by a General Faculty Council. In 1929, the Senior Arts Department moved to a new building on the Fort Garry site, then the location of the Faculties of Agriculture and Engineering. The Senior Science Department was moved to Fort Garry two years later upon completion of the Buller Building.

Throughout the 1930s, the Department of Science experienced continuous growth while Arts remained stable. 1938 saw the creation of two new departments, Commerce and Actuarial Science. In the same year, Professor M.A. Parker, first Dean of Arts and Science and the University's first professor, resigned and was replaced by Dr. H.P. Armes. World War II diminished the number of students but 1945 saw a huge increase in enrolment. The departments of Economics and Sociology were created in 1949, and two years later the departments of Icelandic Language and Literature and Geography were formed. In 1956, planning was initiated for a new science complex including buildings for Chemistry, Physics, Pharmacy and Mathematics. The complex was completed in 1959 and included the Allen Physics Building, Parker Chemistry Building and Armes Lecture Hall. In the same year, construction commenced on the Isbister Building for Geography and Commerce.

In an attempt to reflect the "college" heritage of education and residence at the University of Manitoba, construction started on University College in 1962. The Fletcher Argue office tower was completed in 1966, freeing the top two floors of the Tier building for the School of Social Work. The years of 1968 and 1969 saw the creation of five new programs in Linguistics, Canadian Studies, Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies and Soviet Studies.

The year 1970 saw the establishment of Commerce as a separate Faculty. Later that year, the Faculty of Arts and Science, largely on the request of Science, dissolved to become separate faculties. It brought to an end sixty years of affiliation. In 1970, the Faculty of Arts signed an agreement with St. Paul's and St. John's Colleges, to unify their respective faculty members and expand humanities education. In 1974, programs in Native and Women's Studies were established. Art History and Film Studies were added in 1976, and in 1980 the Institute for Social and Economic Research was created through the Federal Department of Health and Welfare. The 1980's saw gradual increases in enrolment but little physical expansion.

Dean's Review Committee in Arts and Science

  • Collectivité
  • 1938?

The Dean's Review Committee in Arts and Science was composed of the President and Vice-Chancellor, the Dean of Arts & Science, associate deans, the Registrar, and faculty from St. Paul's College. The committee was most likely formed during a period of administrative reconstruction in 1938. The committee was responsible for reviewing student requests for permission to continue their studies in abnormal circumstances such as reinstatement or transferring credits from other institutions. The committee was also responsible for reviewing and formalizing the requirements for the completion of term work, examination regulations, the addition or deletion of courses, and the program of study.

University Club of Winnipeg

  • Collectivité
  • 1913-1914

The University Club of Winnipeg was formed in 1913. Membership was open to male university graduates living in Winnipeg. The object of the club was to bring together the university men of the community. Each member was charged an initial fee of $50 and an additional $25 in annual dues. Judge Cameron was elected permanent Chairman in 1913. The club planned to purchase and renovate the Major Bell house at the corner of Carlton and York Streets. On December 18, 1914, W. Sanford Evans, President and Jasper Halpenny, M.D., Secretary, issued a notice stating that plans for the club and club quarters were on hold until the war ended. There is no evidence that the club was ever revived.

Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg

  • Collectivité
  • 1990-

The Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg (ACW) came into existence in June 1990, as a result of the amalgamation of the Winnipeg Council of Treaty and Status Indians and the Urban Indian Association of Manitoba. It was further motivated by the desire to “form one representative political organization for the Aboriginal people of Winnipeg” (Robinson, ACW Letter, 1990).

The mission of the ACW is to give power to the Indigenous community of Winnipeg in order to help strengthen individual and group potentiality. The vision of the ACW is to see the urban Indigenous community of Winnipeg thrive in a natural, healthy way, with vitality and room to grow. The organization also advocates for education, training and employment, women, and youth, and further addresses emerging issues and promotes economic development (Aboriginal Council of Winnipeg,, 2011). The organization is still active and continues to serve and represent the interests of the Indigenous community of Winnipeg.

Ogilvie Flour Mills Company

  • ofmills
  • Collectivité

The Ogilvie family lineage can be traced back to 1750 when Katherine and James Ogilvie gave birth to a son, Archibald. He moved from Scotland to Canada with his wife, six of his eight children, £2000, and two fine French millstones. In 1811, Archibald’s third son, Alexander, joined his uncle John Watson in Montreal and added his millstones to his uncle's mill. Alexander married his cousin, Helen Watson. They had eleven children. Soon the Ogilvie milling dynasty would flourish.

Alexander Walker, the seventh son, formed a partnership with his uncle, James Goudie. Goudie retired in 1855 and relinquished his share of the business to Alexander’s younger brother, John. In 1872, a mill was built at Seaforth, Ontario, and two years later another at Goderich. By 1877, the competitors complained that the Ogilvies were cornering the market because they held two million bushels of wheat in their grain elevators. John Ogilvie died in 1888. In 1895, the Ogilvie company acquired Stephen Nairn’s oatmeal mill in Winnipeg. In 1900, William Watson Ogilvie died suddenly, and two years later, Alexander Walker Ogilvie passed away as well.

In May 1902, the executors of William Watson Ogilvie sold the flour mills and seventy elevators to a Canadian-owned syndicate. Charles Rudolph Hosmer was the president of the newly formed Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. from 1902 to 1927. From 1912 to 1939, Ogilvie Flour Company were purveyors of flour to his Majesty, King George V, which indicated Ogilvie flour had been adopted by the royal household. In 1949, Gerber-Ogilvie Baby Foods Ltd. was formed and Ault Milk Products was purchased. In 1957, Ogilvie sold their fifty percent share of Gerber-Ogilvie Baby Foods Ltd. to Gerber, and in the same year Ogilvie-Five Roses Sales Ltd. was consolidated. Ogilvie bought control of Catelli stock in 1960. Between 1966 and 1996, Ogilvie Mills sold, purchased, and amalgamated with companies such as General Bakeries Ltd., Beatrice Foods Inc., Delmar Chemicals, Laura Secord Candy Shops Ltd., Catelli-Habitant Inc., Gourmet Baker Inc., among many others. In 1968, John Labbatt Ltd. bought out the 96% outstanding shares and Ogilvie became a subsidiary of Labbatt. In 1993-1994, Archer Daniels-Midland Co. of Decatur, Illinois purchased Ogilvie Mills from John Labbatt Ltd. At the time, the annual sales had reached $275 million.

In-depth history:

In 1163, Gilbride of Airlie, of the noble stock of Angus, knelt before William the Lion, King of Scotland, and arose O'gille Buidhe, in Gaelic parlance "of the family of the yellow-haired." Thus began the lineage of the hydra-headed clan of Ogilvies, Ogelvies, Oglivys & Ogilbies. Regardless of how the name was spelled, they were a formidable clan whose deeds traverse the path of Scottish history.

In 1750, Katherine & James Ogilvie celebrated the birth of their only son, Archibald. The family were tenant farmers in Stirlingshire, and, as the sole male heir, young Archibald grew to manhood and prospered. Fifty years later, as the father of eight with five sons to consider, Archibald realized that there was little prospect left in Scotland for his children. Britain was forced to maintain a large army during the Napoleonic Wars and a young man's choice was conscription or the payment of twenty pounds to provide a replacement. Ogilvie felt that his money could be better spent in the pursuit of an improved life for his family in Canada. He gathered his wife, three daughters, and his three youngest sons and set sail for the Colonies. In his possession were two thousand pounds and two fine French millstones. After thirteen weeks, his ship dropped anchor in the St. Lawrence River beneath the Plains of Abraham. Archibald first touched Canadian shores garbed in the family tradition, knee breeches and top boots, with his wig firmly queued beneath a beaver hat, advertising to all that he was a Scottish squire and a gentleman.

The Ogilvies’ arrival in Canada was impeccably timed as supplies that England normally imported from the Continent had been cut off by the War. The timber used in building ships for the Royal Navy, once taken from the Baltic States, was now coming from Canadian forests. The St. Lawrence was teeming with timber cruisers placing produce in heavy demand.

Archibald decided on a tract of wilderness in Howick, near the Chateauguay River, some twenty-five miles south of Montreal. The first season, he and his family tried to carve out an existence from the feral land. The rigours of farming in a harsh and unpredictable climate did not agree with Archibald. For a price, it was easy to rent a farm from the old Seigneurial holdings near Montreal. The following spring, Archibald handed over the Howick tract to his son William. Taking his wife, daughters, and namesake, Archibald leased the Ermatinger farm less than two miles from the waterfront in the current district of Maissoneuve. The third son, Alexander, retraced his footsteps back to Quebec City, setting up the two millstones at Jacques Cartier on the St. Lawrence. Only the swollen population brought on by the timber boom enabled a Scotsman to compete with the seigneurial mills, often in the hands of the local church.

That same year, 1801, John Watson, a maternal uncle of the Ogilvies, arrived in Montreal and set up his own mill. Watson chose Nun's Island Channel, where the river gains speed. An outbreak of cholera in Quebec City had a deleterious effect on trade. Ships would not enter the stricken port and Montreal was forced to import flour overland from New York at a cost of $16 a barrel. In 1811, Alexander joined John Watson at Nun's Channel adding his millstones to those of his uncle. In 1817, Alexander married his cousin, Helen Watson, and two years later took over the running of the mill following John's death.

The marriage of Alexander & Helen produced eleven children and it is this branch of the family that spawned the milling dynasty. The foundation was not built purely around the male heirs as many of the Ogilvie daughters married into prominent Canadian families. One daughter, Helen Ogilvie, married Matthew Hutchison who worked for many years as a flour inspector in Montreal and subsequently ran the Ogilvie mill in Goderich, Ontario. Margaret Ogilvie married George Hastings and four of their sons played prominent roles in the Lake of the Woods Milling Co. Ltd. Alexander's own sister, Helen, married James Goudie, the son of a Montreal merchant. Alexander grew tired of the milling business and wished to spend more time at his farm at Cote St. Michel, outside the walls of Montreal. He entrusted the running of the mill to his brother-in-law, James, who in 1837 attempted the bold venture of closing the Nun's Channel operation and opening a mill at the St. Gabriel Lock of the Lachine Canal. The new mill, situated in Montreal on a bottleneck to the sea, began to tap into the growing commerce and industry of the area.

Montreal experienced unprecedented growth in the early 1840's, reaching a population of 57,500. Alexander Walker Ogilvie, the seventh child of Helen and Alexander, wrote in his boyhood diary that the land of Montreal Island was becoming too valuable to farm and that he would have to chose another livelihood. But as was often the case in Colonial times, circumstances in Great Britain altered greatly the new Canadian boom.

The Irish potato blight of 1846 caused the removal of all duties on foodstuffs, eliminating any colonial preference and destroying Canada's advantage in the British market. Concurrently, the bottom fell out of the British railway boom. Timber crews came out of the woods that spring to find their logs unsaleable. The United States made matters worse by passing the Bonding Acts, designed to divert the growing traffic from Upper Canada into American ports.

Following the ebb, the flow of commerce of the Canadian economy rebounded by 1850. The lure of the Canadian west beckoned and with it came British investment companies willing to take a chance on any get-rich-quick scheme, often to the detriment of their investors. This influx of cash and the general optimism in the Canadian hinterland soon returned Montreal to prosperity. James Goudie and his nephew, Alexander Walker Ogilvie, witnessed huge grain shipments entering Montreal from the Lake Ontario settlements. As many as 500,000 bushels of wheat passed through Montreal on the way to Great Britain. Goudie and Ogilvie believed that there was a market for flour and formed a partnership in 1852. This injection of new blood into the company was vital, for the previous year Ira Gould had leased sufficient water from the Lachine Canal to operate several runs of millstones and had built the City Flouring Mill on lands adjacent to the Goudie-Ogilvie property. Gould's challenge forced Goudie and Ogilvie to renovate their operation. The resulting Glenora Mill added a new wing to the Goudie grist mill, relegating the older structure to storage space. The new mill stood four storeys high and contained equipment for such things as polishing barley. A steam engine was installed to assist the waterwheel.

Young Alexander Walker took to the milling business with exceptional zeal. The grain being produced in the older settlements was beginning to deteriorate, so he purchased grain from as far west as Niagara to assure the quality of his flour. He was also blessed with good fortune. In 1854, the Crimean War cut off Continental grain supplies, sending British buyers to Canada for wheat surpluses and available flour. At the same time, the American mid-west was burgeoning from squatters' shacks into full-fledged cities, eager to trade with Canada. That option was made all the easier when the United States passed the Reciprocity Treaty.

In 1855, James Goudie was able to retire knowing that Alexander was more than capable of running the business. He relinquished his remaining interest in the company to Alexander's younger brother, John, who had recently returned to Cote St. Michael to help his father, Archibald, run the family farm. The sign on the Glenora Mill now bore the name A.W. Ogilvie & Co. The brothers had scant opportunity to bask in their accomplishments. Eastern Canada's wheat was rapidly declining and a Commissioner of Crown Land's report in 1856 suggested that there remained little quality land to be settled east of the Great Lakes. Annexation by the United States posed a very real threat and Canadian survey parties were dispatched to the Far West in search of suitable land for an ever growing population. Minnesota and the Dakotas were already being settled and a mill at St. Anthony's Falls (Minneapolis) was grinding 120 barrels of flour daily. Glenora flour was selling well from the St. Lawrence to Newfoundland and into the Maritime Provinces. The Ogilvie brothers felt that expansion westward was the natural progression. John Ogilvie began to push westward, exploring new settlements and laying down offers to purchase against the upcoming harvest.

The 1860's brought another decade of feast and famine to the Canadian economy. Fortunately for the Ogilvies, they brought brother William Watson on board in 1860 to help navigate the company through the eddies of a turbulent time. Initially the American Civil War brought a huge increase to Canadian business, causing Montreal factories to operate non stop to cover all the war orders. More millstones were added to Glenora to keep up with the demand as the price of flour rose steadily. The Ogilvies rented extensive storage space to house all their grain pouring in from Western Ontario. However, at War's end, the victorious Union government took steps to block all Canadian imports, forcing many companies into ruin. A.W. Ogilvie & Co. was not among the casualties. The brothers’ cautious well organized approach to the milling business not only allowed them to ride out the rough economy but galvanized their position as one of the country's leading millers.

The company's new found security enabled a more pronounced division of labour amongst the brothers. John undertook the supervision of the family's interests in Ontario with an eye toward Western expansion. William Watson oversaw the administration of the company in Montreal, freeing Alexander to pursue public duties and to concentrate on the growing financial problems that were plaguing the flour industry. Alexander was elected to the Quebec Legislature by acclamation in 1861. His two terms in office were characterized by the most cordial of relations with his French-Canadian colleagues, for he spoke perfect French, albeit with a Scottish burr.

While administering a successful business, he still found time for a staggering list of responsibilities that included: alderman for the City of Montreal, Justice of the Peace, President of the Workingmen's and Widows' Benefit Society, President of the St. Andrew's Society, the St. Andrew's Home, Caledonian Society, Royal Montreal Curling Club, Life Director of the Montreal General Hospital, Director of the Exchange Bank of Canada, Sun Life Assurance Co., and the Montreal Building Society.

A trip to Europe brought Alexander in contact with the "Hungarian Process" of milling that combined stone and roller grinding. The method produced flour of such fineness that Ogilvie introduced the steel reduction rolls to his Glenora Mills in 1871. By 1874, his myriad of outside duties caused him to resign his position leaving William Watson in charge. In 1881, he was appointed to the Upper Chamber of the Senate. In 1884, Senator Ogilvie was one of a select few that toured the Western reaches of the Canadian Pacific Railway. C.P.R. General Manager, William Van Horne, held the Ogilvie name in the highest regard. When once asked by a visiting Brit what the national flower of Canada was, he replied, "Ogilvie flour of course."

The 1870's were years of expansion for the Ogilvies. In 1872, at John's behest, a mill with a 250 barrel capacity was built at Seaforth, Ontario. Two years later, a mill with twice the capacity and an elevator were built at Goderich. The elevator served the dual purpose of storing local grain as well as the water-born shipments from Western Canada. Later that year, John Ogilvie ventured to the Dakota Territory and purchased the first parcel of hard spring wheat to be shipped to Eastern Canada. The 800 bushels proved to be of magnificent quality. The success of this experiment led the Ogilvie's to push for the growing of hard wheat in the Canadian West. For ten years John Ogilvie was a lonely visionary to the potential bread-basket available on the Canadian Prairies. In 1881, a mill was begun in Winnipeg and the first elevator in Manitoba appeared at Gretna. This was a calculated move for the arrival of the first Manitoba hard wheat in Britain had been a sensation. The early tests on the Manitoba product confirmed a grain of unsurpassable quality. The first export of wheat from Western Canada occurred in 1885 when the Ogilvie's sent a small shipment from the Winnipeg Mill to Scotland. The company received a staggering offer from British military for a half million dollar shipment. An order that far outstripped the companies ready supply but was a harbinger of the untapped economic potential in the Canadian West. By 1887, the Ogilvies held two million bushels of Manitoba wheat in their elevators prompting competitors to complain that the company was out to corner the market. The future was so bright that not even the death of John Ogilvie in 1888 could dampen the desire to push westward.

The Ogilvies had no intention of selling wheat while the possibility of milling flour existed. They planned to tackle the rival Minneapolis millers head on and entered the British market on a major scale. To that end, the Royal Mill was erected in Montreal in 1886 with an adjoining 200,000 bushel elevator. This new mill gave the firm a total production capacity of 5,500 barrels per day. To solidify their strangle-hold on the industry even further, the company purchased City Flour Mills from the heirs of Ira Gould, in 1893. That same year, in view of widespread want and hunger in Winnipeg, Ogilvie presented five thousand pounds of Hungarian flour to the city relief committee. The Company further encouraged further gift-giving by other local firms.

William Watson Ogilvie, like his brother Alexander, had many civic responsibilities. He was President of both the Montreal Board of Trade and the Montreal Coin Exchange. He was the first flour miller to be elected President of the Canadian Manufacturers' Association and sat as a director with the Bank of Montreal, the Montreal Transportation Company and the North British and Mercantile Insurance Company. He was a member of the Montreal Harbour Board as well as being a Director of the Sailors' Institute.

In 1895, Ogilvie acquired Stephen Nairn's oatmeal mill in Winnipeg. That same year William Watson hosted a group of Minneapolis millers at a banquet in Winnipeg. One of the guests, C.A. Pillsbury of the great American milling combine, toasted the host as "the largest individual flour miller in the world."

G.R. Stevens, O.B.E., offers this interesting insight into the milling business in his book, Ogilvie in Canada Pioneer Millers 1801-1951: "During these pioneer years, when the milling industry was wracked with growing pains, a bitter struggle ensued between the millers and the farmers over the relative freight rates of wheat and flour. Few were as fortunate as the Ogilvies, who had both the raw material and the manufactured article to sell. In due course wheat won, with profound effects upon the milling industry. It became profitable to carry wheat rather than flour to centres of consumption; yet because of improvements in milling practice it did not pay to build little mills all over the place. A few large mills, strategically situated, proved the answer in Canada."

As the century drew to a close, new and well-equipped mills began to spring up in many British ports. This practice permanently effected the market for imported flour as four out of every five bags of flour consumed in Great Britain were ground locally. The fifth bag was invariably used as a blend. One of the companies lucky enough to cut into that final 20% share of the market was Ogilvie. G.R. Stevens used this quotation from the British Baker's Manual of 1898 to illustrate the high regard with which Ogilvie flour was held in the article, "Popular Penny Cakes for Counter Tray and Window": "For these lines there is something about Vienna flour which absent from nearly all of the others. There is only one flour that comes near it. That is made by Ogilvie's Royal Mill in Canada."

These words would have made fitting epitaphs for the two remaining Ogilvie brothers. After nearly a century in the milling business, the family was about to undergo a radical transformation. On January 12, 1900 William Watson Ogilvie died suddenly. In a fitting tribute the Montreal Stock Exchange suspended operations for the day. Obituaries from across Canada stressed the prominent roll that "The Miller King" played in the development of the North-West Territories.

Two years later on March 31, 1902, Alexander Walker Ogilvie died. The Montreal Gazette had this to say, "... the death of few men would leave a deeper feeling of regret, or recall more sincere esteem and respect."

On May 30, 1902, the executors of William Watson Ogilvie sold the flour mills and seventy country elevators to a Canadian owned syndicate. The new president was Charles Rudolph Hosmer, a Montreal financier, born in 1851. He took his first job as a telegraph operator in 1865, moving on to manage a Grand Trunk Railway office the following year. Hosmer became the manager of the Dominion Telegraph Co.'s Kingston office in 1870, joining the Buffalo office the following and becoming superintendent of the company in 1873 at Montreal. He held this position until the company merged with Great Northwestern Telegraph Co. In 1881, he effected the organization of the Canada Mutual Telegraph Co. He remained the president and general manager of this operation until he joined the Canadian Pacific Railway as head of the telegraph department in 1886. Hosmer retained general management of C.P.R. telegraphs until his retirement in 1899. He was a director of the Bank of Montreal, C.P.R., Postal Telegraph, Sun Life Assurance of Canada and several other companies. His term as president of the newly formed Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. ran from 1902-1927.

The new company needed someone with a strong knowledge of the milling industry. Frederick William Thompson filled that role as the inaugural vice-president and managing director. He was born in 1862 and joined Ogilvie at the age of twenty. By 1889 he had been appointed manager of the company's business in the Northwest. Thompson took a prominent role in the federal election of 1911, speaking out against reciprocity with the United States and opposing wider Imperial relations. He died prematurely in 1912.

The original director with the longest seniority was Sir Montagu Allan, who sat on the board from 1902-1951. Allan was born in Montreal in 1860 and was the founder of the Allan Steamship Co. and Matilda Caroline Smith. He was President of the Merchant's Bank from 1901-1922. Allan was created a knight bachelor by King Edward VII in 1906 and decorated Companion of the Victorian Order in 1907.

The other two original directors were Sir George Alexander Drummond and Sir Edward Seaborn Clouston. Drummond was born in Edinburgh in 1829, emigrating to Canada in 1854. He was a manager of John Redpath and Son, sugar refiners of Montreal. In 1879, he founded the Canada Sugar Refining Co. In 1882, he was elected a director of the Bank of Montreal, advancing to the vice-presidency in 1887 and presidency in 1905. In 1904, he was knighted.

Clouston was the son of a Hudson's Bay Co. Chief Factor and was born at Moose Factory on Hudson's Bay in 1849. He joined the bank of Montreal as a clerk in 1865. By 1887, he had risen to assistant general manager and became a first vice-president in 1906. He was created a baronet in 1908.

Just prior to the sale of A.W. Ogilvie & Co. and the W.W. Ogilvie Milling Co., F.W. Thompson received the Duke and Duchess of York at the company's Winnipeg mill. The royal couple carried out the customary inspection and the Duchess was said to be impressed by the cleanliness of the facility. At the end of his Canadian tour the Duke succeeded to the title of Prince of Wales. On March 1, 1902, the W.W. Ogilvie Milling Co. received the Royal Warrant from the Comptroller of the Household as Flour Millers to His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales. When the Prince ascended the throne as King George V, the Appointment was terminated. However, in December 1912, a new Warrant was received as "Purveyors of Flour to His Majesty", an honour that the company held until December 11, 1939. The renewal of the Warrant indicates that the earlier recognition had not been a matter of protocol. It indicates that following the visit to the Winnipeg mill, Ogilvie flour had been adopted by the royal household.

The twentieth century has been one of far reaching expansion by the Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. An overview of which is chronicled in point form below.

1906 - New mill opens at Ft. William only to have elevators slip into the Kaminestiqua River on May 26, 1906.

1907 - Ogilvie Benefit Fund established.

1908 - Company announces formation of the Western Division comprised of Winnipeg Flour and Oatmeal and the rebuilt Ft. William Terminal Elevator.

1912 - Death of F.W. Thompson, Vice-President and Managing Director. He is replaced by W.A. Black.

1913 - Mill built at Medicine Hat.

1923 - Ogilvie buys Alberta Milling Co. at Edmonton.

1927 - W.A. Black ascends to the Ogilvie Presidency following the death of C.R. Hosmer.

1929 - Construction begun on Toronto office.

1930 - The Tree Line Shipping Co. and its thirteen vessels was purchased.

1935 - After 52 years with the company, W.A. Black retires and J.W. McConnell takes over as president.

1937 - The Company's publication, "The Jolly Miller", made its debut in January and recorded Ogilvie history until 1969. The inaugural issue had a quotation from President McConnell that a successful business depended upon "honesty, quality and service."

1939 - Ogilvie received order for the exclusive supply for flour and rolled oats for the pilot train, the Royal train and all other official residences of the Royal party during the forthcoming visit to Canada of their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth.

1940 - C.A. Dunning succeeds J.W. McConnell as President. Montreal Cereal and Feeds Mill is built. Miracle Feeds are introduced.

1941 - Capacity of the Edmonton mill was doubled.

1943 - The plant at Ft. William is equipped for the production of wheat starch and gluten.

1944 - Medicine Hat power plant was converted to electricity over from coal.

1946 - Five years in its completion, the new Royal Mill opens in Montreal with a daily capacity of 15,000 bags.

1947 - C.A. Dunning becomes Chairman as G.A. Morris replaces him as President. Ogilvie first introduces ready mixes.

1948 - January - Fire destroys Ogilvie elevator at Maple Creek, SK. May - Ogilvie donates an entire carload of Royal household flour to the British Columbia Flood Relief Committee.

1949 - Gerber-Ogilvie Baby Foods, Ltd. formed to process cereals and strained foods for infants and children. Ault Milk Products was purchased from the Ault family.

1950 - New office and warehouse built in Winnipeg.

1952 - Medicine Hat established a research laboratory. N.H. Davis replaces the retiring G.A. Morris as President. Ogilvie becomes a sponsor for the popular children's television show Howdy Doody.

1954 - Purchase of Lake of the Woods Milling Co.

1955 - Industrial Grain Products Ltd. commenced operation at its new Monosodium Gluten plant adjacent to the Royal Mill in Montreal.

1956 - Lake of the Woods Mills at Brampton and Medicine Hat were closed and the capacity of the Ogilvie plant at Medicine Hat significantly increased. A new pneumatic milling unit was installed at the Royal Mill in Montreal. The Montreal Warehouse of the Lake of the Woods Milling Co. was sold. Lake of the Woods joined the Ogilvie Benefit Fund.

1957 - The sale of Ogilvie and Lake of the Woods products was consolidated in Ogilvie-Five Roses Sales Ltd. Ogilvie's 50% in the Gerber-Ogilvie Baby Foods Ltd. was sold to the Gerber Products Co. in the United States. Ogilvie-Five Roses left the baby food business. The old Ogilvie Glenora Mill on Seigneurs St. in Montreal was sold. Vital gluten was added to Industrial Grain Products line of produce.

1958 - February - Ogilvie flour shed and Alberta Pacific grain elevator, at Turin, AB, are destroyed by fire. The old Lake of the Woods head office building on the corner of St. John and St. Sacrament Streets in Montreal was sold.

1959 - The country elevators of Ogilvie and Lake of the Woods including the terminal elevator at Ft. William were sold.

1960 - Ogilvie bought control of Catelli stock in January. That same month, N.H. Davis announced his retirement. He was succeeded by Arthur Atkins. Ogilvie-Five Roses became the new sponsor of Tommy Hunter's C.B.C. radio show. Construction began on Catelli plants at Transcona and La Prairie, Quebec.

1961 - The McGavin group of Bakeries in Western Canada, in which Ogilvie had a substantial interest, consolidated their businesses with those of Canadian Bakeries and Canada Bread Company to form McGavin Toast Master Ltd. The sales department of Western Canada underwent a reorganization. The five regional sales forces were amalgamated into two divisional groups. Vancouver became headquarters for the Alberta and British Columbia division while Winnipeg headed up the division for Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Western Ontario. The sales department at Medicine Hat was moved to Edmonton. The Medicine Hat plant installed three gigantic Butler Bins increasing the mills capacity to 509,200 bushels.

1962 - Ogilvie introduced its first bulk feed truck. The company purchased the assets of Edmonton Produce Company in Edmonton and formed a new company, Edmonton Produce (1962) Ltd. to process poultry products.

1963 - A research facility was established adjacent to the Royal Mill in Montreal. A new unit was added on to the Winnipeg mill. The first Russian order, a purchase of 575,000 long tons of flour from Canadian Mills to be shipped between Oct. 1963 and July 1964 resulted in a 33% increase in Canadian flour production. Ogilvie's share of this massive order was over 30% resulting in all their mills running to capacity. The Lake of the Woods Mill in Medicine Hat was reopened for the first time in seven years to meet the demand. 1964 - Ogilvie purchased almost all of the outstanding Class "A" common shares (non- voting) of Catelli Food Products Ltd.

1965 - Ault Milk Products Ltd. opened a cheese plant at Winchester, Ontario.

1966 - Ogilvie, through Inter-City Baking Co. Ltd. purchased the outstanding shares of Consolidated Bakeries of Canada Ltd. The Romi Foods Ltd. plant in Toronto was purchased by Catelli. The Ogilvie board approved construction of a Catelli plant in Trinidad. On September 1st Arthur Atkins retired as President and was replaced by J.W. Tait.

1967 - The Company's flour mill and warehouse at Keewatin were destroyed by fire on July 3rd. Out of the insurance claim, the Pillsbury Mill at Midland, Ontario was purchased to supply the Ontario market. Several Ogilvie subsidiaries amalgamated under the name Catelli-Habitant Ltd., later the name was changed to Catelli Ltd.

1968 - Ogilvie introduces Five-Roses gravy maker & sauce maker. General Bakeries Ltd. purchased the bakery businesses formerly operated by Consolidated Bakeries of Canada Ltd. and Inter City Baking Company Ltd. On January 26, John Labatt Ltd. made an offer to the shareholders of Ogilvie to purchase common shares for a consideration per share of one Convertible Preferred Share, Series A, of a par value of $18 plus $2.10 in cash. The offer was accepted by the holders of 96% of the outstanding shares and Ogilvie became a subsidiary of John Labatt Ltd. The corporate organization of the Company was revised to provide for four operating divisions, namely Package Foods Division and Industrial Division, a Starch and Chemical Division, a Food Service Division, and a Feeds Division, together with a supporting central staff. The fiscal year-end was changed from August 31st to April 30th. Ogilvie purchased the assets and undertaking of the Food Products Division of Cham Food Ltd. of Winnipeg, the assets of Dyck's Hatcheries Ltd. Man.-Ont., Poultry Farm Eggs Ltd., the egg processing business and assets of the Borden Co. and the milk plant of the Borden Co. at Kemptville, Ontario. The company's poultry processing operation in Edmonton was discontinued and the plant was rented to Canada Packers Ltd.

1969 - John Labatt Ltd. purchased Manning's Inc., a food service company in the Western United States. Based in San Francisco, Manning's operated a food service management for clients in several states and owned a chain of 25 cafeterias and a prepared food manufacturing plant in Eugene, Oregon. The company also roasted and sold coffee to the food service industry. The starch plant in Ft. William underwent a major modernization. Ogilvie sold its 91.5% interest in Malcolm's Condensing of St. George, Ontario to Beatrice Foods Inc. of Chicago. The head office personnel of the Food Service Division were transferred to Toronto from Montreal. The Ogilvie flour mill in Edmonton was closed down and eventually demolished. Ault Milk Products Ltd. undertakes $1,000,000 expansion program. Already the largest milk production plant in the country, Ault intends to become more involved in food processing with instant powder, cheese portions, and butter patties.

1970 - The operating of the Company was realigned into two groups, namely Industrial Products Group and Consumer Food Products Group. Delmar Chemicals and D.C. Sales were purchased by Ogilvie from John Labatt Ltd. Strathroy Flour Mills Ltd. was purchased as a going concern. Ogilvie's Quebec City warehouse was sold as was Catelli's pasta plant in Transcona. Ogilvie common shares were de-listed from the Montreal and Toronto Stock Exchanges. Production capacity was substantially increased at Catelli's Montreal pasta plant.

1971 - La Boulangerie Nationale Ltee., Dyson's (Ontario) Ltd., Edmonton Produce (1962) Ltd., and Les Porcheries Canadiennes Ltee. all surrendered their charters. Dyck's Hatcheries Ltd., Cal-Ed Poultry Farm Eggs (Edmonton) Ltd. and Man-Ont. Farm Eggs Ltd. all transferred from the Agri-Products Division to the Feeds Division. A major expansion was completed at the Ault plant in Winchester, Ontario. Laura Secord puddings were introduced into the market place.

1972 - Boulangerie Joseph Martin Ltee., Boulangerie Medard Paquette Ltee., and Medicine Hat Milling Co. all surrendered their charters. All assets of the Ogilvie Benefit Fund were transferred into the fund for Ogilvie's pension plan for salaried employees. The plan then assumed the liability for pensions being paid and certain future ones. Construction began on a new starch plant at Candiac, P.Q., destined to double the Company's starch and gluten production. Ogilvie sold its warehouses in Toronto, Vancouver, and Calgary. Construction began on Catelli's asceptic canning plants, the first of its kind in Canada.

1973 - The company's holdings of all outstanding shares of Catelli-Habitant Inc. of Manchester, New Hampshire were sold to Manning's Inc. The operating assets of Delmar Chemicals were sold to Manning's Coffee Co. The assets of Cham Foods and Man.-Ont. Poultry Farm Eggs Ltd. were sold. Ault Foods Ltd. purchased the milk quotas of Casselman Creamery Ltd.

1974 - Catelli Ltd. acquired from the public and associated companies all the outstanding shares of Laura Secord Candy Shops Ltd. and subsequently sold substantially all its assets and undertaking to Laura Secord Candy Shops Ltd. As a result, the Catelli operation was carried on by the Catelli Division of Laura Secord. A serious explosion and subsequent fire closed the starch plant at Candiac for several months.

1975 - The name of the Ogilvie Flour Mills Co. Ltd. was changed to Ogilvie Mills Ltd. - Les Minoteries Ogilvie Ltee. Ault Foods sold all of its assets to Laura Secord Candy Shops in exchange for Laura Secord shares. The name of Laura Secord Candy Shops was changed to Ault Foods (1975) Ltd. - Les Ailments Ault (1975) Ltee. Ault Foods Division of Ault Foods (1975) purchased the milk processing and dairy products operation of Cow & Gate Ltd. in Eastern Ontario, approximately doubling the company’s fluid milk capacity. The name of Ault Foods Ltd. was changed to Ault Creamery Ltd. The breeder farm at Dyck's Hatchery was sold.

1976 - Miracle Feeds Division withdrew from the dry formula feed business in Western Canada and sold its Otterburne feed mill. The Edmonton feed mill closed down. Ault Foods sold its plant in Brockville, Ontario. The ownership of the land on Mill Street in Montreal, associated with the Company's Royal Mill, was transferred to Ogilvie by the Crown in settlement of the loss of water rights under former leases, resulting from the closing of the Lachine Canal. Property of Dyck's Hatcheries Ltd. at Niverville, Manitoba, known as Apex Farms, was sold. Canada Grain Export Co. wound up and was dissolved. Ogilvie acquitted the rights to a lease of land next to its Royal Mill property in Montreal, on which it proposed to build a new warehouse and production staging facilities. Miracle Feeds Division purchased all of the assets of Rothsay Concentrates Ltd. as a going concern. Glenora Securities Inc., a former investment subsidiary of Ogilvie, was dissolved and surrendered its charter.

1978 - Guy St. Pierre replaces J.W. Tait as president and CEO of Ogilvie.

1983 - Miracle Feeds negotiates an agreement with Kellogg's of Canada to handle all the grain by-product produced by Kellogg's manufacturing plant in London, ON. Miracle also opens offices in Perry, GE and Belleville, IL.

1985 - January- Ogilvie purchases the food ingredients division of the Henkle Corp., in Keokuk, IO establishing the company as the world's largest gluten and wheat starch producer and providing a modern production facility in the American mid-West. April - Ogilvie purchases Murphy Products Inc., effectively doubling Miracle feeds sales volume and providing the infrastructure for American expansion. December - $1,700,000 investment converted the Candiac plant to Hydro-Cyclones.

1986 - September - Guy St. Pierre is the keynote speaker at the 100th anniversary of the French National Miller Association hosted in Quebec City. December - The 685' lake freighter, S.S. Stadacona, slammed into the wharf at Ogilvie's Midland elevator causing extensive damage.

1987 - September - Ogilvie Flour produces 52,000 tons of flour, the largest month volume in the company's 186 year history.

1988 - Guy St. Pierre resigns as president and CEO, to be replaced by Terry McDonnell.

1989 - January - Ogilvie announces the purchase of 50.5% controlling interest in Tenstar Aquitane, an established wheat starch and gluten producer in Bordeaux, France. May - Ogilvie commences production on a state-of-the-art Oat Mill in Midland, ON. October - Ogilvie acquires Woodstone Foods Ltd. of Portage la Prairie, MB, a manufacturer of vegetable fibres, proteins, and starches extracted primarily from Western Canadian peas.

1990 - March - Ogilvie purchases Ross Foods of Winnipeg, MB, initiating the company into the frozen bakery products business. May - Ogilvie purchases Gourmet Baker Inc., one of Canada's leading frozen dessert and bakery manufacturers. Gourmet Baker is a national supplier of sheet cakes, torts, cheesecakes, fruit and cream pies, as well as laminated and puff-pastry products to in-store bakeries and the Canadian food service industry. May 10 - 105 year old Ogilvie Oats building in Winnipeg about to become obsolete by year end, burns to the ground.

1992 - May - Ogilvie starch team create Wallstar, a wall paper adhesive for the Collins and Aikman plant in Platsburg, NY. In May, John Labatt Ltd. reached an agreement with Archer Daniels-Midland Co. of Decatur, Illinois to sell off the Ogilvie flour milling division. Labatt had been eager to sell off the Ogilvie division after a proposed merger with Maple Leaf Foods Inc. was turned down by the federal Bureau of Competition Policy in

  1. Ogilvie owned plants in Montreal, Midland and Strathroy, Ontario, and Medicine Hat, Alberta. The company had 925 employees at the time of purchase.

1993-1994 - ADM purchased Ogilvie Mills, the largest miller in Canada and a world leader in production of starch, gluten, and other wheat ingredients, with annual sales of $275 million. The flour-milling business arm of the new conglomerate then signed long-term supply contracts with the Toronto-based food and retailing giant George Weston Ltd, United Oilseeds Products Inc., a canola crushing plant in Lloydminster, Alta., (which was jointly owned by United Grain Growers Ltd. of Winnipeg and Mitsubishi Corp. of Japan), and the agriculture operations of International Multifoods Corp. of Minneapolis, a business that included 11 feed mills and a chicken hatchery in Canada.

1994 - June 6th - 115 workers of ADM Milling walked off the job in a dispute over job security and seniority rights.

1995 - Strike ends September 20th.

1996 - In May, Archer-Daniels-Midland Co. has an agreement with Maple Leaf Mills from Maple Leaf Foods and ConAgra Inc.

1997 - March 1st - The Competition Bureau announced that it will file a consent with the Competition Tribunal requiring ADM Agri-Industries Ltd. to sell the Maple Leaf flour mill on Oak Street in Montreal and to maintain certain supply obligations to the eventual buyer of the mill. In meeting this stipulation the bureau will allow ADM to acquire the assets of Maple Leaf Mills, a deal that had been in the works for over a year. This deal was never ratified. October 31 - Arson claims Ogilvie plant in Winnipeg, MB.

Glenlea Research Station

  • glenlears
  • Collectivité
  • 1966-

In June 1966, Premier Duff Roblin on behalf of the Faculty of Agriculture and Home Economics officially opened the Centre for Applied Research at Glenlea. The Centre began to be commonly referred to as the Glenlea Research Station the same year. The area consists of nine river lots which, when purchased in 1962, had comprised three separate farms. The Station is located on Highway 75, approximately 20 km south of the University of Manitoba Fort Garry campus. There are approximately 500 hectares of land partitioned into three main areas by Highway 75 and the railway line. West of Highway 75 is an area of approximately 400 hectares which is divided into 14 fields. The Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences operate the Station with financial support from Manitoba Agriculture and the University of Manitoba.

The Station originally housed the Dairy Science Centre, a beef Nutrition Unit, a Swine Research Centre, and a research program involving field-scale crop rotation. Today there are facilities for other departments at the University of Manitoba including the Avian Behaviour Laboratory for ducks and geese, under the direction of the Department of Psychology, an observatory operated by the Department of Mathematics and Astronomy and a geomagnetic observatory supervised by the Department of Geology. In addition, the Station had been an official meteorological recording site, providing weather information to Environment Canada. Finally, the Manitoba Wildlife Rehabilitation Organization had operated the Wildlife Rehabilitation Center on site.

Public Markets Ltd.

  • publicmarkets
  • Collectivité
  • 1911-1990

Public Markets Limited (PML) was incorporated In 1911 by the Manitoba Government in order to provide Manitoba livestock producers with a market-place to accommodate this growing industry. A 137-acre [or 232- acre] site located on Marion Street in St. Boniface was purchased by the City of Winnipeg. In the land title reocords, this areas was referred to as the ‘Roman Catholic Mission Property’. On August 14, 1913, the Marion Street facility, with its stock yards and packing house facility, was officially opened by Premier Sir Rodmond Roblin. For the next seventy-five years, this facility, known as the Union Stock Yards, not only provided the City of St. Boniface with its largest single source of employers but became a vital cog in Manitoba's agricultural economy.

According to the Manitoba Historical Society, "An agreement was made with three main railroads, the Canadian Northern Railway (CNR), Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR), and Grand Trunk Pacific Railway (GTP), all of whom wanted service access to the sites... [The] PML was financed with a capital stock of $1.5 million and 10,000 shares of $100. Each railroad company was allotted 3,333 shares and one directorship in the PML. The railroads retained collective ownership of PML while the public was guaranteed a voice, and ability to affect prices, with several provincially-appointed directors to represent local producers and the public interest."

The livestock business in Manitoba owes its origins to the great cattle drives in the Southwestern United States. The Dodge City/Western Trail led up into Alberta where it hooked up with the newly completed Canadian National Railway. Cattle were loaded on to freight cars and shipped to the markets in Eastern Canada. Along the way the trains stopped off in Winnipeg to water and feed the cattle, giving rise to Manitoba's livestock industry. Winnipeg's first stock yard was located in the Weston area but space constraints and easier access to the rail lines necessitated the move to St. Boniface. The Union Stock Yards were the largest of their kind in Canada. The yard had its own private well essential in providing the endless stream of water required.

In 1925, Canada Packers opened a meat processing plant next to the yard, thirteen years later they were joined by Swift. World War II brought unprecedented growth to the packing industry as Canada supplied meat for the troops overseas. The yards represented a large cross-section of livestock interests. Within its structure were numerous salesmen, buyers, producers and employees of the trade and yard company. The Canada Department of Agriculture also provided two essential services. Veterinarians performed health inspections and a daily market report was prepared to inform the industry on livestock values and prices. Truck and brand inspections were carried out by representatives of the provincial governments. The market had its own Livestock Exchange to supervise trading and its membership included buyers for all kinds of stock as well as bonded commission firms and dealers.

The livestock received and sold at Union Stock Yards came from all three prairie provinces, destined for the local market, Eastern Canada, or under favourable exchange and trading conditions, the United States. The principal requirement locally was to provide slaughter cattle for the processing plants. However, under good weather and feed conditions there was a significant turnover of cattle back into the Manitoba feed lots for finishing. The Eastern Canada market was constant year-round with upwards of 300,000 cattle and calves shipped annually. The yard was also the largest exporter of feeder cattle in Canada with steady sales to Iowa, Minnesota, and Nebraska.

Failure to keep up with technological advancements and the advent of refrigerated trucks conspired to end the Union Stock Yards dominance of the industry. Trucks took over as the principal means of beef shipping with the completion of the Trans Canada Highway in 1955. The meat packing industry began to move closer to the source of its product as plants in Alberta supplanted Winnipeg processors. Manitoba hog processing still remains a viable industry but the Union Stock Yards, Canada Packers and Swift beef processing plants had outlived their usefulness by 1990. The Swift plant was demolished in 1994.

Thistledown Press Ltd.

  • thistledown
  • Collectivité
  • 1975-

Thistledown Press was founded in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, in 1975 to publish and promote the poetry of both new and established prairie writers. One of Canada's premiere literary presses, Thistledown was formed by Glen Sorestad (1937-), a writer, editor, and teacher who earned his Master's in English at the University of Saskatchewan, and Neil Wagner, a prairie artist who was also a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan.

Thistledown grew from modest beginnings during meetings in the kitchens of the Sorestads and the Wagners into a series of business offices to having a staff of employees. From the outset, its goal has been to publish new and established writers, especially from the prairies, and to produce a consistently high-quality literary product. At the time of its formation, its founders believed that there were not enough outlets for Canadian poets and that Canadian publishing generally had not created "a wider reading audience for poets."

Thistledown Press was one of a number of publishers which developed in the mid-1970s as a response to a proliferation of quality poetry (be it lyric, narrative or experimental) from mostly young writers throughout the western provinces of Canada. The creative writing movement which took root in the prairies was responsible for bringing to light such poets/writers as Bert Almon, Peter Christenson, Lorna (Uher) Crozier, Lorne Daniel, Joseph D. Fry, Patrick Lane, William Latta, Andrew Suknaski and many others. Among Thistledown's most prolific writers were John V. Hicks and Gertrude Story, both of whom began to be published later in life.

As a Canadian literary publisher, Thistledown quickly earned a national reputation as a company willing to give young or new writers a chance. Recognition in the form of awards for publishing quality works soon followed. Among others, Thistledown won the Canadian Authors Association Award for the best book of poetry published in Canada in 1980 (Leona Gom's Land of the Peace ).

Thistledown became known for organizing special community events including editorial workshops and poetry readings and especially, an annual autumn gala in Saskatoon. Thistledown proudly considers itself part of western Canada's business, cultural and artistic community, taking special delight in publishing an author's first book. Many evenings of readings by such articulate, entertaining authors have been held under the auspices of Thistledown.

Through the financially-responsible efforts of the Sorestads and the Wagners, Thistledown kept its financial head above water. Sonia Sorestad and Susan Wagner (a University of Saskatchewan graduate), spouses of the founders, had the responsibility of working with an outside accountant for the purpose of planning, updating and overseeing all financial objectives. Several government agencies, such as the Canada Council, provided essential financial support.

To maintain its high standard of book publishing, Thistledown established an editorial board consisting of Allan Forrie, Patrick (Paddy) O'Rourke, Raymond Penner and Glen Sorestad, all University of Saskatchewan graduates. This board ensured that every submission considered for publication was thoroughly appraised, that fair criticism was provided the author and that the original objectives of Thistledown were maintained.

Currently, Thistledown concentrates primarily on publishing poetry and fiction, both for adults and young adults, exclusively by Canadian writers. They also publish a series of teachers’ resources. They have also published several anthologies for both adults and young adults, including one commemorating their 20th anniversary of publishing. They have currently published over 250 books, with 170 still in print. In 2002, Thistledown published their first creative non-fiction title.

As of 2001, Thistledown Press had received a total of 12 awards. The most notable being the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book, won by Jeffrey Moore’s Prisoner in a Red-Rose Chain .

In 2000, Glen Sorestad, one of the founding members of Thistledown, was named as Poet Laureate for the province of Saskachewan. He retired from his position at Thistledown in 2000. The company is currently owned and operated by Allan Forrie and Patrick O'Rourke, with a staff of four.

St. John's College

  • stjohnscollege
  • Collectivité
  • 1883-

The forerunners of St. John’s College were privately owned boarding schools. Reverend Jones established the Red River Academy in 1833 at Upper Church. When it merged with John Pritchard’s private school, the Academy became the sole source of secondary education available to the Protestant Community in the Northwest. Through the aid of Hudson’s Bay Co. Governor George Simpson, Jones enrolled 17 boys and 16 girls in his two-storey wooden structure that consisted of two wings joined by a covered walkway. Jones undertook the post of headmaster while his wife supervised the girls until her untimely death in 1836.

Regrettably the Academy remained elitist drawing the majority of its enrolment from the families of the executives of the Hudson’s Bay Co. By the late 1840s registration was in decline owing to no educational facility for young women and a growing perception that Macallum’s teaching methods were too harsh. In an odd development Macallum died the very day that the first Bishop of Rupert’s Land landed at Red River.

Bishop David Anderson had intended to make his new headquarters at the new stone church at St. Andrew’s. The death of the schoolmaster at Upper Church left the Red River Academy in a state of dissolution. Anderson hastened to Upper Church with a goal of melding the settlers interest in higher learning with those of the Church Missionary Society. Anderson undertook supervision of the school with the aid of his sister. He hoped the school and ultimately the Theological College that he was planning would become a permanent administrative and training centre for the Church’s work in the Northwest. Bishop Anderson named the parish a Upper Church in commemoration of St. John the Evangelist. He renamed the Academy St. John’s Collegiate School with the proposed theological college to be called St. John’s College. He chose for a school motto “In Thy light we shall see light”. (Psalm 36 verse 91)

The St. John’s Collegiate School endeavoured to educate Indigenous peoples, supported by the Church Missionary Society, fee paying settlers son as well as the Academy’s previous clientele. No provision was made for educating girls but a Miss Mills began a Girl’s School in a house known as St. Cross recently vacated by the Reverend William Cockran. The Collegiate School academic program was more rigorous than the Academy. John Macallum’s interest in the classics was continued as well as the addition of modern languages. Bishop Anderson deemed modern language important in mission work. Intellectual development was stimulated with the foundation of an 800 volume library financed by friends of the School, the Society for Propagation of Christian Knowledge and the Bishop’s own personal collection.

In 1850 Bishop Anderson began teaching theological subjects to candidates for the ministry among them Thomas Cockran and the Indigenous catechist Henry Budd. The Bishop organized a Board of Trustees in 1855 as “ guardians of the property connected with the Collegiate School and the keepers of the Diocesan Library. All library books and property under the Board were to “bear the stamp, device, and motto of St. John’s College.”

The role of St. John’s as a theological college was unparalleled in the Northwest. The Roman Catholic Church made no attempt to train native clergy and relied upon Eastern Canada and France for priests. Bishop Anderson ordained twenty clergymen between 1849-1864, nine were born in the Northwest. Eight were products of the mission schools and St. John’s College. Four graduates, Henry Budd Sr., James Settee, Henry Cochrane and Henry Budd Jr. were Indigenous while Thomas Cook, and three future Archdeacons, Robert MacDonald, Thomas Vincent and John A. Mackay were half-breed sons of Hudson’s Bay Company employees.

By 1855 other duties had begun to infringe on Anderson’s work at the College. Despite poor health, Thomas Cockran remained a Master of the Collegiate and College tutor after his ordination. He ran the College in 1856 when Bishop Anderson returned to England on an appeal for funds. The Bishop returned to find enrollment declining but with no respite from his own workload little was done to redress the College’s problems. Finally in 1859 Thomas Cockran left to join his father Archdeacon Cockran at Portage la Prairie. With no competent successor to take his place, Bishop Anderson reluctantly closed the doors of the College and Collegiate.

On June 24, 1865 Robert Machray was consecrated Bishop of Rupert’s Land. The graduate of King’s College, Aberdeen and Cambridge, would play a pivotal role in the revival and subsequent development of St. John’s College over the next four decades. Upon his arrival at the Red River Settlement on October 13, 1865, Machray became acutely aware of the need to re-establish an Anglican college. The quality of education provided at Pritchard’s and Miss Davis’s schools needed to be enhanced and more native clergy were required to advance the faith amongst the Indigenous missions. Machray was appalled at the general lack of knowledge of the rites of the Church of England exhibited at the Red River Settlement. He wrote to Prebendary Bulloch, of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel on November 10, 1865, in the hope of garnering financial aid to resurrect the College. Machray’s appeal was a success and he was joined by an old school friend the Reverend John McLean, who became the first Warden of St. John’s College. Samuel Pritchard agreed to merge his school with the College in return for a teaching position within the Collegiate. He would become the College’s first registrar. The Church Missionary Society agreed to pay Archdeacon McLean’s salary as well as supporting four or five students. Archdeacon Cowley and Reverend W.H. Taylor, the two remaining members of Bishop Anderson’s 1855 Board, met with Bishop Machray to turn over the authority for the library and dilapidated school house. Renovations were begun on the school while the Warden prepared to move into the St. Cross residence that twenty years earlier had been home to William Cockran and most recently housed Mrs. Mill’s School. McLean’s quarters would house some of the boarding students with the remainder dwelling with Mr. Pritchard in a nearby house.

St. John’s College re-opened on November 1, 1866. The trio of instructors offered a wide and varied selection of subject matter. The theology students learned Ecclesiastical History and Liturgiology from the Bishop, while the Warden taught Systematic and Pastoral Theology. Pritchard taught the boys English, bookkeeping and arithmetic. The Bishop taught five boys higher mathematics while fifteen learned Greek from the Warden. Seven boys including three Indigenous were part of the Warden’s Junior Divinity course.

A constitution was drawn up in early 1867. The College’s four aims were enumerated: First - to train fit persons for the Sacred Ministry and for discharging the duties of Catechists and Teachers in Parishes or Missions within this diocese of the Church of England; Second - To provide instruction in the higher branches of education usually taught in Universities, for such students as may be desirious of the same; and thought fit for usefully prosecuting them; Third - To combine with these primary objects such kindred efforts, including a Preparatory College or Collegiate School, as may be found desirable and expedient; Four - To perform such acts, matters, and things as are incidental or otherwise conductive to the attainment of the before-mentioned objects of any of them.

Enrollment in the College improved rapidly. The rapid development did little to improve the already cramped living quarter and lack of classroom space. Bishop Machray launched a campaign for endowment funds with the hope of providing independent support for the warden’s wages and sufficient funds for further building at the College. A trip through Minnesota and the northern missions raised 500 pounds for the endowment of the Warden’s Chair of Theology. A depressed economy brought on by locusts and poor hunting condition conditions shelved the idea of further expansion. The Red River Rebellion and its political uncertainties further conspired to postpone the Bishop’s plans. He feared annexation by the United States but was more concerned with the prevention of bloodshed at the Settlement. Both he and Warden McLean counselled the Canadian Party not to launch a military campaign against Riel and his supporters for control of the Upper Fort. The quelling of the Rebellion and the subsequent formation of the Province of Manitoba brought stability and optimism for further expansion within the Settlement.

St. John’s College had its first graduates from the University of Manitoba in 1881. W.T.B. Kennedy and R.F. McLennan garnered degrees from the three year Bachelor of Arts program while S. P. Matheson, George Mackay, Robert Machray and James Flett received the first Bachelor of Divinity degrees. Three years later a new College building was opened on Main Street at Church Avenue. The three and a half storey brick building provided spacious classrooms and room for living accommodations for 20 students.

In 1913 increased enrollment at the College brought about the need for the hiring of the first full time Warden in forty years. Reverend J.J. Robinson a graduate of Trinity College, Dublin relieved Archbishop Matheson of the roll. In 1917 the University Amendment Act broke the concept of the “Republic of Colleges”. The church colleges maintained an affiliation with the University and were free to teach any subjects but no longer held any control over the University. A Board of Governors nominated by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council assumed the full responsibility of directing University expenditures and planning.

In 1932 the Machray Defalcation comes to light all but ruining the College. Any thought to moving to the new University Site of St. Vital (Ft. Garry) is replaced with a solemn battle for survival. The decimation of the endowment funds, the loss of Church and College property forced St. John’s to exist solely on student fees. The traditional relation between the College and Cathedral was altered in 1938 with the appointment of a Rector of the Cathedral replacing the “collective ministry” of theology professors that had operated since 1874.

In 1945 the College received an offer from United College (formerly Wesley) to combine their arts instruction and hold their classes in the centrally located United College building. It was proposed that St. John’s build its own theological building and perhaps others in the Portage Avenue locale of United. Fearing that this course of action might lead to absorption St. John’s rejected the offer. The College decided on a stop gap measure while they awaited the move to the Ft. Garry Campus and purchased the Music and Arts Building located at the corner of Broadway and Hargrave Street for $70,000. To help finance the move the College sold the Annex building to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church for $35000. The College School remained on Main Street until 1950 when the amalgamated with Ravenscourt School in Fort Garry to become St. John’s Ravenscourt. The St. John’s Council made a definite decision in 1955 to sell its Broadway Avenue site and move to the University campus. The College accepted a building site on Dysart Road and the initial fund raising drive was kicked off with the Hey Day Celebration. The College and University signed a 99 year lease agreement for the nominal sum of one dollar. The agreement was signed October 4, 1957.

University of Manitoba Students' Union

  • umsu
  • Collectivité
  • 1919-

The University of Manitoba Students' Union is the governing student organization of the university and acts as the students' representative in improving students' academic and campus life experiences. UMSU was founded in 1919 in order to represent the students as a united group. UMSU's early activities centred upon organizing social events and producing publications such as the University of Manitoba Phone Book (1920-1985; 1991-1992). However, as Canadian society changed and the importance of the University grew in relation to that society, UMSU's position in the University grew accordingly. By the 1960s, UMSU had begun to lobby for the creation of a students' union building and in 1970 UMSU's efforts came to fruition with the creation of the University Centre building on the Fort Garry Campus, with UMSU as a part owner.

In 1975, UMSU became one of the few students' organizations in North America to gain autonomy from the University Administration when it was incorporated by Provincial Statute. UMSU subsequently passed its own constitution and by-laws governing its operations. The 1970s and 1980s saw UMSU expand its on-campus services to students through the creation of several student-run businesses including a campus pub, print shop, restaurant and billiards hall. Unfortunately, by 1995, most of the UMSU businesses proved unprofitable and were closed down to or licensed to outside proprietors to prevent further losses.

However, though branching out into economic endeavors, UMSU remained committed to providing effective non-profit services to students such as operating a peer-advisor counseling service, a food bank for students, a radio station and a free on-campus art gallery. UMSU also puts on events such as Orientation, where new students are welcomed to campus, an annual Celebration week, where various speakers and events are offered to students free of charge, and assorted other activities that enrich student life at the University of Manitoba.

As UMSU is funded by mandatory student organization fees, upon paying their fees, students become full members of UMSU as well as paying contributors to the student council or their own faculty. The UMSU council, made up of elected representatives from each faculty, college and residence council, as well as the UMSU president and Vice-President, meets every two weeks during the school year (sporadically in the summer), to deal with major areas of concern within the Students' Union. Council also elects members to both standing and ad-hoc committees. Each sitting committee is then supposed to report to council once a month.

The UMSU Executive:

UMSU's day-to-day activities are run by five executive members. Each executive receives a salary, and though may take classes, considers his/her position to be the equivalent of a full time job. For the dates of this collection (1964-1995) the structure of the executive remained essentially the same.

The president is the elected leader of UMSU. Chief among the President's responsibilities is to represent students in all matters affecting their interests both on and off campus.

The Vice-President assists the President in the day-to-day activities of UMSU. The Vice-President serves as a liaison between students and administration in the event of academic or course difficulties. In addition to these responsibilities, the Vice-President also interacts with various student groups around campus and is the executive's representative on the University of Manitoba Senate.

The Director of Programming is appointed by council to coordinate all of UMSU's social events. These include concert series, films, political forums, lectures, socials, beer bashes, Orientation, Celebration and any other social event sponsored by UMSU. The Director of Programming is also responsible for allocating matching UMSU funds to councils or student group that mount their own social events.

The Director of Student Services was appointed by council to run many of the visible services offered by council. Book exchanges, off-campus typist listings, and telephone directories were the responsibilities of the director of student services. By 2002, the title of the position was changed to Director of Student Affairs.

The Director of Communications (DOC), also appointed, is essentially a public relations post. The DOC. ensures that the students know about all the decisions, programming, and services UMSU designs on their behalf. By 2002, the position's title had changed to Director of Public Relations.

Prior to1988, there was one more member of the executive, the Director of Administration (DOA). The DOA. was employed on a full time permanent basis, supervised all financial transactions, and provided a degree of continuity to an executive that faced yearly turnover. However, in 1988 the incumbent DOA. was terminated and the position ceased to exist. By 1995-1996, UMSU had recognized the need for a permanent administrator and created the position of Executive Director, who oversaw many of the same responsibilities of the former DOA.

Morrish, Hilda

  • Personne

Hilda Morrish was born circa 1920 in Hove, England. She joined the Women's Royal Naval Service in 1940. She requested, and was granted, a transfer to Cheltenham, Gloucester. She was later present in Paris in August of 1944 and toured in July 1945 after VE (Victory in Europe) Day. She later moved to Winnipeg and graduated from the Education Faculty of the University of Manitoba. In November 2005, the memoirs of her wartime experiences were read as part of a Remembrance Day ceremony at the University of Manitoba.

Bell, Annie Sinclair Keith

  • Personne
  • -24 Dec1989

Position: Staff member in the Dept of Internal Medicine

Bell, Gordon

  • Personne
  • 22 May 1863 - 8 Aug 1923

Education: BA(Tor)1887; MD CM(Man)1890

Positions: Prof Bacteriol 1896; Prof Pathol 1905; Prof Bacterol 1916-23

Allison, Frederick Gerard

  • Personne
  • 2 Feb 1904 - 1 Sept 1989

Education: BA1924, MD(Man)1929, LMCC1929, MRCP(Lond)1931, FACP1949, FRCP(C)

Positions: Unknown

Bell, Percy George

  • Personne
  • 8 Nov 1884 - 2 Mar 1952

Education: BA(Man)1906, MD(Man)1909, FACS1920

Position: Assoc Prof Clinical Ophthalmology 1921; Prof of Ophthalmol 1936; Prof Emeritus (pass by Faculty Council Executive May 7, 1947)

Bergsagel, Daniel Egil

  • Personne
  • 25 April 1925 - 20 Oct 2007

Education: MD 1949 (Man)

Position: Chief of Dept of Medical Oncology at Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation 1965-1990; Emeritus Prof U of Toronto

Bernstein, Charles Noah

  • Personne

Education: MD 1985(Man)

Positions: Professor, Internal Medicine; Head Section of Gastroenterology, Director, UM Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Clinical & Research Centre

Bertalanffy, Felix D

  • Personne
  • 1926-1999

Education: BSc(Vienna); MSc(McGill)1951; PhD(McGill)1954

Position: Asst Prof in Anatomy 195?; Assoc Prof in Anatomy 1959;
Prof in Anatomy 1965; Prof Emeritus 1991

Best, Brian Desmond

  • Personne
  • 20 Aug 1910-May 30 2004

Education: MD(Man)1934; LMCC1934; FRCS(C)1937 (BDB)

Position: Demonstrator in Obstetrics and Gynecology 1938; Lecturer 1939; Asst Prof 1950; Professor 1951; Prof Emeritus 1976

Résultats 211 à 240 sur 1579