Affichage de 145 résultats

fichier d'autorité
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Williams, Richard E.

  • williams_r
  • Personne
  • 1921-2013

Richard E. Williams was Director for the School of Art at the University of Manitoba and an artist. Williams was born in Dormont, Pennsylvania in September, 1921. He received a B.A. in Sculpture from the Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie-Mellon University) in 1943 and completed a M.F.A. in Printmaking from the State University of Iowa in 1954 (during this time, he also served as an aircraft electrician in the Army Air Force for three years). In the fall of 1954, Williams accepted the position of Director for the School of Art at the University of Manitoba—a position he held until 1973. While at the University, he taught printmaking, drawing, design and lectured in art history.

During his career at the University of Manitoba, Williams was involved in various art organizations. He was a founding member of the Universities Art Association of Canada (UAAC) in 1957, a member of the UAAC Executive from 1967-1977, and served as President of the organization from 1970-75. He also served on the Board of Governors at the Winnipeg Art Gallery from 1956-1977 and was the regional representative for the Western Canadian Art Circuit. During the 1950s and 1960s, Williams was largely responsible for initiating the nationally-recognized “Winnipeg Shows” exhibitions.

Williams made many contributions as a member of the community of artists in Manitoba and has been recognized for several collections and works. He was commissioned for several local projects, including: the 1959 Concrete Sculpture for Polo Park; a stainless steel wall relief for the Investor’s Syndicate Building (1959), and an official portrait of former Manitoba premier Howard Pawley (1991). His work is owned by several organizations, including: the Winnipeg Art Gallery, the Museum of Modern Art (New York), the Harvey Gaul Memorial (Carnegie Institute, Pittsburgh), and Des Moines Art Centre (Iowa).

After stepping down from his position as Director of the School of Art in 1973, Williams continued to teach at the University of Manitoba until his retirement in 1987. In 1990, he received the honorary title of Director Emeritus at the University of Manitoba. During his retirement, Williams continued his work as an artist, and completed several collections, including “The Naked Block Party” series in 1997 as well as several works depicting the Annunciation. An exhibition of his work was held at the University of Manitoba's Gallery One One One in September 2005.

Richard Williams died in Winnipeg on December 17, 2013.

Tarnawecky, Iraida

  • tarnawecky_i
  • Personne
  • 1924-2011

Dr. Iraida Gerus Tarnawecky was born in 1924 in Pochaiv, Volhynia, in what was then part of eastern Poland (now Ukraine). Her parents were Reverend Serhij and Anna Gerus (Palianychka). In 1949, she obtained a B.Sc. from the Georg August (informally known as the Georgia Augusta) University in Goettingen, Germany. After immigrating to Canada in 1950, she obtained an M.A. from the University of Manitoba (1964) and a Ph.D. from the Ukrainian Free University (Munich, Germany, 1965) in Slavic Studies. Dr. Tarnawecky was married to the late Professor Emeritus Michael Tarnawecky (1924-2003), an electrical engineer, and had two daughters, Marusia and Natalka. From 1963 to 1968, she served as a sessional and full-time lecturer with the Department of Slavic Studies (University of Manitoba). In 1968, she was appointed Assistant Professor with the department. She was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor in 1975 and to the rank of Full Professor in 1984. Upon her retirement from the Department of German and Slavic Studies, Dr. Tarnawecky was honoured with the title of Senior Scholar.

Dr. Tarnawecky was a renowned Slavic linguist and onomastist with a keen interest in Slavic philology and Cyrillic paleography. She was published both nationally and internationally and her publications include two books and many articles. One of her most important publications is entitled East Slavic Cyrillica in Canadian Depositories (1981), a monograph identifying public and private Canadian collections containing Cyrillic manuscripts and early books. In order to compile the material for her research, Dr. Tarnawecky visited 87 institutions and private collections throughout Canada. In 1974, Dr. Tarnawecky was the first Canadian academic chosen in an agreement between the Canada Council and the former U.S.S.R. Academy of Sciences to carry out a research program in the history of Slavic languages at the Linguistic Institute in Moscow and Kyiv. She remained active throughout her career in various associations and committees, including Vice-President of the Canadian Society for the Study of Names, Chairperson of the Humanities Section of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in Canada (UVAN), member of the Senate for St. Andrew’s College Library, editior of the Onomastica series, and a former member of the Canada Council Selection Committee for Doctoral Scholarships in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Dr. Iraida Tarnawecky passed away on July 5, 2011.

Wilmot, Laurence Frank

  • wilmot_l
  • Personne
  • 1907-2003

LAURENCE FRANK WILMOT, B.A. & L.Th. (Man.), M.C., B.D. (Man.), D.D. (Hon. Causa, Trinity), M.A. (Man.), D. Phil. (Oxon), D.D. (Hon. Causa, Man.), M.A. (Man.)

Laurence Frank Wilmot was born on a farm seven miles northwest of Clanwilliam and 10-12 miles north of Minnedosa, Manitoba in the Crocus Hill School District on April 27, 1907. His mother, Fannie Charlotte Campbell, was born in a Belfast hotel while his father, Thomas Herbert Wilmot, grew up at the edge of the Sherewood Forest and later named his Manitoba farm in honour of his Nottinghamshire birthplace. Thomas came from England to Clanwilliam, MB in 1895. Laurence attended Crocus Hill elementary school (a three-mile walk from his uncle's home, where he lived). Wilmot subsequently attended the Bethany Consolidated School, from which he graduated in 1925. He trapped and hunting in order to earn money for school fees and personal expenses.

In the fall of 1925 Wilmot enrolled at the University of Manitoba. He spent one year in the pre-engineering program but half-way through his first year Wilmot made the decision to enter the minister. He transferred to St. John's College and changed his major to Arts and Theology. In this first year of theological training the Diocese of Brandon sent him on a summer placement in 1926 which involved being responsible for four parishes. His remuneration was $40 per month; travel was by horse and buggy. By the summer of 1930 Wilmot had a brief change of work; he wanted to work outside for health reasons and found himself on a CPR survey crew.

He was active in sports. During his early theological training, Wilmot was pitcher for the Grosse Isle baseball team, played soccer for a city church league, played rugby, basketball and football for St. John's and University of Manitoba. At St. John's College, he was a member of the Students' Council. He graduated from St. John's in 1931 with a Bachelor of Arts and a Licentiate in Theology.

Wilmot was ordained as a deacon in 1931 and served the next 11 years in rural missionary fields of Manitoba. For the first four years, during the heart of the Great Depression, Rev. Wilmot served a six-point charge in the Pembina Hills area of southwestern Manitoba at the parishes of Pilot Mound, Crystal City, Clearwater and La Riviere.

1932 was a momentous year. Wilmot was ordained priest by the Bishop of Brandon and that August was married at St. Alban's, Winnipeg, to Edith Louise Hope Littlewood (born June 10, 1905 at Newburg, ON), a Winnipeg teacher, whom he had first met in Deloraine where she was teaching and he was replacement minister. Their first child, Laurence Sidney Herbert was born in June 1933. Young Laurie was joined in succeeding years by two sisters, Frances Mary Louise in October 1934 and Hope Fairfield in February 1940.

After four years in Pilot Mound, Rev. Wilmot was appointed Rector and Rural Dean of Swan River and Chaplain of St. Faith's Mission, an Anglican mission at The Pas in 1935 (with this appointment, he became responsible for 35 congregations). In 1939 he was named Travelling Priest in the Northern missions of the Diocese of Brandon. The Hudson's Bay railway was part of Rev. Wilmot's field. He held this post until his 1942 enlistment in the Canadian Army as a chaplain. Earlier, during his St. John's College student days, Rev. Wilmot had earned both his lieutenant's and captain's designations in the Canadian Officers In Training Corps. Following the outbreak of the Second World War, he volunteered to become a military chaplain but was not called into service until two years later.

After serving in military camps in Canada and Great Britain Rev. Wilmot spent the last two years of the war in Italy and North West Europe with the West Nova Scotia Regiment. He provided spiritual counsel and conducted church services and other religious ceremonies for the men in his regiment, many of whom would not survive the bitter struggle to advance up the Italian peninsula against an entrenched and determined foe.

Rev. Wilmot himself was often exposed to enemy fire and on at least one occasion he narrowly escaped with his life when a German shell exploded over a spot that he had just vacated seconds before. During one episode he was shot at, the bullet entering one side of his helmet and exiting the other. His organization and personal leadership of the evacuation of wounded soldiers from a minefield at the Foglio River Crossing (on Italy's Adriatic coast) on 31 August 1944 resulted in his being awarded the Military Cross.

When the war in Europe ended Rev. Wilmot was transferred to Canada en route to a posting in the Pacific Theatre. The sudden Japanese surrender allowed him to remain in his home country until he received his discharge in November 1945. In later years he served as militia chaplain to the Winnipeg Grenadiers. A special honour came in 1953 when he was named Protestant chaplain to the Army section of the Canadian Armed Forces contingent attending the coronation of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and received the Coronation Medal.

After his discharge Rev. Wilmot spent the next 16 years in Winnipeg, licensed by the Bishop of Rupert's Land. He taught English and history for the Department of Education in a Veterans' Vocational School in Winnipeg which was established to prepare veterans for university entrance. In 1945 he began a Master of Arts degree in the philosophy of religion and metaphysics. In 1946 he accepted an appointment as Central Western Field Secretary for the Anglican General Board of Religious Education and, in preparation for his new assignment, attended the fall semester at Yale Divinity School where he took several religious education courses. In 1948 Rev. Wilmot received from St. John's College the Bachelor of Divinity he had begun in 1937.

Rev. Wilmot served as a Field Secretary until 1949 when his increasing frustration over what he termed the "domineering policies at the head office" caused him to resign. In his correspondence he accused his superiors of placing undue restrictions on his activities and ignoring the reports and recommendations that he and the other field secretaries had been submitting. He was particularly upset when an ambitious attempt to start up the Knights of the Cross, a proposed lay order designed to encourage men to become more involved in Church leadership, was summarily halted after a promising beginning.

After his resignation as field secretary Wilmot served for a year as Rector of St. Mary Magdalene Church in St. Vital. His term at St. Mary Magdalene happened to coincide with the disastrous 1950 flood and most of his summer was spent helping parishioners cope with the task of repairing damaged homes and replacing lost possessions.

On November 1, 1950 Rev. Wilmot was installed as Warden and Vice-Chancellor of his alma mater, St. John's College, as well as Honorary Canon of the Diocese of Rupert's Land and Archbishop's Examining Chaplain. At the time of Rev. Canon Wilmot's installation the College's future was not promising; financial difficulties and a declining enrolment at its downtown campus had forced it to cut numerous programs. During Rev. Canon Wilmot's eleven years as warden, St. John's experienced a dramatic reversal in fortune that culminated in 1958 with the move to a new set of buildings on the Fort Garry campus of the University of Manitoba. One of his colleagues would later say that Wilmot had transformed the college "from a feeble, spiritless vestige at the point of death, into a thriving community of students and academics." In 1958 he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Divinity from Trinity College, University of Toronto.

At the end of the 1959 school year Rev. Canon Wilmot was able to announce that the size of St. John's faculty was greater than what the total enrolment had been when he first assumed his office nine years before. During his time as Warden of St. John's he also lectured there in philosophy and theology. Rev. Canon Wilmot spent the summer of 1960 studying philosophy at Harvard University.

Unfortunately, Rev. Canon Wilmot's years at St. John's were also marked by difficulties with the Church hierarchy. In his second year as warden he submitted his resignation, citing the Chancellor's wilful lack of co-operation as the reason. This resignation was suddenly withdrawn after an apparent reconciliation between the two parties was reached. Rev. Canon Wilmot continued to face what his colleague would later describe as "discouragement, episcopal opposition and downright malevolence" from the archbishop and church council. Finally, after a series of stormy meetings in the spring and summer of 1960 he announced his resignation in October, saying that it would be "in the best interests of the college". Despite the widespread support of the faculty and the student body he stepped down at the end of the 1960-61 academic year.

After his resignation Rev. Canon Wilmot went to England where he researched and studied contemporary philosophy and Patristic Theology (concentrating on Fourth Century church fathers) for two years at Keble College, Oxford. Rev. Canon Wilmot had in 1953 completed course work for a Master of Arts in Philosophy but the demands of administrative duties at St. John's forced him to postpone the thesis. He wrote his thesis at Oxford and finally received the M.A. in 1963 from the University of Manitoba. His thesis was entitled "The Idea of God in the Most Recent British Philosophy: An Enquiry into the Possibility of Significant Theological Discourse Today".

In 1963 he also was appointed Teaching Fellow and Sub-Warden of St. Augustine's College in Canterbury, the central college of the Anglican communion. Rev. Canon Wilmot lectured in Historical Theology and conducted seminars in contemporary theology to classes consisting of Anglican clergy from around the world. Also in 1963, he was greatly moved when Oxford University conferred upon him an Honorary Doctor of Philosophy.

In 1965 Rev. Canon Wilmot was named Acting Warden of St. Augustine's and served in that capacity until June 1967 when the college was closed as a result of a decision by the Anglican Consultative Committee.

He then accepted an invitation to become a Pastoral Theological Fellow and enter the clinical pastoral education program at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital in Houston, Texas. There he spent a year acquiring clinical pastoral experience and training. In 1968 Rev. Canon Wilmot moved to Washington, D.C. to train as a resident in the chaplain's department under Dr. Ernest Bruder at St. Elizabeth's, a large federally-operated psychiatric hospital. That year Rev. Canon Wilmot was the recipient of another Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa), this one from St. John's College.

In the summer of 1969 Rev. Canon Wilmot took a supervisory course in clinical pastoral education at Toronto's Queen Street Mental Health Centre. He received his clinical pastoral supervisor certification and in August of that year was appointed Protestant Chaplain and teaching supervisor of Whitby Psychiatric Hospital, east of Toronto. Rev. Canon Wilmot remained at Whitby until 1972 when he reached the mandatory age for retirement. During his stay at Whitby he conducted numerous training seminars and workshops on clinical pastoral education and took an active interest in training clergy to deal more effectively with patients in mental health institutions.

In 1972 Rev. Canon Wilmot returned to Winnipeg and accepted the posts of Coordinator for Continuing Education for the clergy of the Anglican diocese of Rupert's Land and Director of Field Education for seminarians at St. John's College. After an 11-year absence, Laurence and Hope Wilmot appreciated the return to their home on University Crescent. He also made time to work two days per week as chaplain at Victoria Hospital, as well as acting as priest-in-charge of St. John the Baptist Parish (later Life Honorary Assistant to the rector at St. Paul's, Fort Garry and assistant priest-in-charge at St. Helen's Mission, Winnipeg). In 1975 he was elected Chairman of the Manitoba Region of the Canadian Association for Pastoral Education and has served a three-year term on the Board of Directors of the University of Manitoba's Alumni Association.

Rev. Canon Wilmot officially retired in 1976 in order to devote more time to a book based on his post-graduate study of the later writings of the British process philosopher and theologian Alfred North Whitehead. The completed manuscript, Whitehead and God: Prolegomena to Theological Reconstruction , was published in 1979 by Wilfrid Laurier University Press.

Rev. Canon Wilmot returned to school and in 1979 at the age of 72 was awarded a Master of Arts in history from the University of Manitoba. He titled his thesis "The Christian Churches of the Red River Settlement and the Foundation of the University of Manitoba: An Historical Analysis of the Process of Transition from Frontier College to Provincial University". An essay written during this period, "Alexander Morris and the Creation of the Office of Premier: An Historical Analysis of the Evolution of Responsible Government in Manitoba," received the Margaret McWilliams Medal from the Manitoba Historical Society in 1978. St. John's College continued to honour its former warden. Rev. Canon Wilmot was made an Honorary Fellow in 1980 and Warden Emeritus in 1990.

Rev. Canon Wilmot maintained an active life throughout the 1980s and 1990s. Apart from his research and writing on early Manitoba history he devoted a considerable amount of time to issues concerning the elderly. He was a member of the 1980-81 Diocese of Rupert's Land Task Force on Ministries To and With the Elderly and in 1981 he participated in the Anglican Church Project on Elders and Ministry. Rev. Canon Wilmot also became heavily involved with Creative Retirement Manitoba, serving on its board of directors and personnel committee until 1992 and helping to organize lectures and seminars on a variety of topics.

Rev. Canon Wilmot's experience as a member of both the board of directors and the advisory committee of the Society of Self-Help, Inc. in the late 1980s was not so positive. The SOS, a non-profit organization dedicated to helping outpatients from mental institutions integrate themselves into the community, was plagued by incompetent (and possibly corrupt) management. A series of financial setbacks had, by 1990, left SOS near death and Rev. Canon Wilmot was obliged to take on the desperate task of reviving it. His efforts to stave off bankruptcy were apparently not appreciated by some of the other officers (possibly friends of the former director) and in August 1990 he was effectively forced out as the Society's coordinator.

Hope Wilmot died in July 1986 after a long struggle with heart disease and was buried at St. John's Cathedral Cemetery. After eight years as a widower, Rev. Canon Wilmot remarried in St. John's College Chapel 21 January 1995 to a widow, Grace Nunn. He was in his 88th year at the time of his remarriage, a fact that was duly reported in the media. To celebrate his 90th birthday in 1997, Laurence and Grace Nunn Wilmot enjoyed an extensive tour of Greece.

At over 90, Rev. Canon Wilmot remained active moderating church conferences, attending meetings, writing scholarly theological works, his autobiography and collecting his papers for archiving.

He died on December 13, 2003 and was buried in St. John’s Cemetery.

Melnyk family

  • Melnyk Family
  • Famille
  • 1915-2012

Stefan Sytnyk, 1897 – 1989 . Stefan Sytnyk was born in Ternopil, Crownland of Galicia, Austro-Hungarian Empire (now Ukraine) in 1897, one of five children. He worked as a skilled tradesman in his early years, and drove trains during the First World War. In 1926, he immigrated to Canada, followed by his wife Eugenia one year later; together they settled in Winnipeg where they would live for the rest of their lives. At first, Stefan worked for the railroad, but he had an entrepreneurial bent so after a few years, he and his wife, assisted by their only child Irene, opened a grocery store in Winnipeg’s North End which they operated until the early 1940’s. Supported by this business, Stefan began acquiring what became an extensive collection of rental properties throughout Winnipeg which he determinedly maintained himself even well into his eighties! Through his lifetime of hard work and frugal living, Stefan supported his wife’s extensive activities in the Ukrainian community and built a foundation for the future financial security and success of his family.

Eugenia Sytnyk, 1900 ? – 1975 . Eugenia Sytnyk was born in Ternopil, Crownland of Galicia, Austro-Hungarian Empire (now Ukraine). She became interested in community work very early in life, organizing women’s groups, cooperatives and schools, and serving with the Red Cross during the First World War She followed her husband Stefan to Canada in 1927, settling with him in Winnipeg where they had their only child Irene one year later. Eugenia continued her involvement in community work, teaching school, editing women’s and children’s pages of Ukrainian newspapers and helping Ukrainian immigrants adapt to life in Canada. She became a founding member of the Ukrainian Women’s League as well as of the Ukrainian Women’s Organization of Canada (UWOC) and also took on executive positions with a wide variety of local and national Ukrainian organizations, including the Ukrainian Canadian Women’s Committee and the World Federation of Ukrainian Women’s Organizations. Eugenia was recognized for her many years of service to the Ukrainian community with the Shevchenko Medal for Meritorious Service at the ninth Congress of Ukrainians in Canada, and the City of Winnipeg Community Service Award medal.

John Melnyk Sr., 1916 – 2009. John Melnyk was the elder son of Mykola and Palagia who immigrated to Canada from Ukraine and met and married in Winnipeg. From an early age, John was drawn to the piano, studying it enthusiastically from 1924 to 1938, first with Maria Kekishiwna (a pupil of Anton Rubinstein), Leda Omansky, and finally Beryl Ferguson under whose tutelage he earned his Licentiate of the Royal Schools of Music, London in 1935. He became a well-known performer in Winnipeg, participating in the Saturday Night concert series sponsored by the Men's Music Club of Winnipeg, performing live-to-air broadcasts for CBC, touring Western Canada with up-and-coming Canadian musicians, and accompanying touring international artists on their Canadian appearances. He also composed three preludes, a sonata, a concerto, and two sets of variations, all for piano and all unpublished. In later life he settled into teaching which he continued well into his eighties. Twenty-four of his students won the Aikins Memorial Trophy as top instrumentalist in the Manitoba Music Festival, with which he was associated for over 70 years. That festival now annually awards the John Melnyk trophy and bursary for the best performance of a piano concerto.

Irene Melnyk, 1928 – 2012 . Irene was the only child of Ukrainian immigrants Stefan and Eugenia Sytnyk. She grew up helping her parents in their store, accompanying her mother to community meetings, participating in Ukrainian groups and taking piano lessons from John Melnyk whom she married in 1948. Irene was then attending the University of Manitoba from which she received a Bachelor of Science in 1950. Shortly thereafter her two sons were born, and she devoted herself wholeheartedly to raising them, yet still found time to teach Ukrainian and Sunday school, publish two Ukrainian primers with her friend Nadia Pip, as well as teach piano in her husband’s burgeoning studio and publish a scale book for beginners with him. As her sons grew older, Irene turned her energies and love of learning to holistic health. She opened a health food store under the Shaklee organization, studied extensively at the Moreau Institute of Natural Healing, and also earned credentials in Physical Health, Natural Nutritional Sciences and Natural Therapeutics among others. She became a respected reflexologist and teacher, serving on the Reflexology Association of Canada (RAC) board of directors for several years; RAC awarded her a lifetime membership in 1997 and recognized her as Outstanding Teacher of the Year in 2006.

Post Family

  • postfamily
  • Famille
  • 1903-1958, 1974

Stephen Elesworth Post was born on February 24, 1878 in West Bend Iowa, U.S.A. In June 1880, he immigrated to Canada with his parents and settled at Woodmore, Manitoba. He lived and worked with his parents until 1898. He then moved to a homestead near Overstone, Manitoba where he farmed for five years. On November 3, 1903, Stephen Post bought the N.W. quarter 9-3-4 in the R.M. of Franklin (near Dominion City). He moved to the farm on this property in 1904, where he resided until his death.

On March 10, 1908, Stephen Post married Orythia Myrtle Post (maiden name unknown), who was born at Greenridge, Manitoba on May 22, 1887. They had two children: C. Myrtle Post, born on January 25, 1909, and Elesworth F. Post, born on May 18, 1910. Both children worked on the farm with their parents. Stephen Post died on February 19, 1954. Orythia Post died on November 6, 1963. C. Myrtle Post died on September 17, 1983. Elesworth F. Post died in 1998.

Spencer Family

  • spencer_family
  • Famille
  • 1880-[197?]

Percy Spencer was born in England and came to Canada in the 1880s. He homesteaded in the Russell area, and had seven children with his wife. One of their daughters, Lucy, became a Registered Nurse (R.N.) in 1931. Her diaries are particularly interesting for what they reveal about women's education and careers in the first part of the 20th century. Scholars in the fields of Women's Studies and History will find much useful information in these diaries. Percy Spencer also wrote consistently and over a long period of time on the problems of homesteading.

Strange, Davison, Thompson and Griffiths Families

  • sdtgfamilies
  • Famille
  • 1860-2003

These papers were created by families of Theodore Strange, Andrew Davison, Thompson and Mary Ann Griffiths. Theodore Strange married Mary Ann Griffiths and together they had four children, Nita, Ella, Sims, and George. Strange worked in Winnipeg for a short while to earn money to buy land for a farm and relocated his family to Green Ridge in 1878. Theodore Strange died in October 1879 of pneumonia and complications from injuries received during the U.S. civil war.

The following year, the widowed Mary Ann Strange married Andrew Davison of Green Ridge. They had five more children, Mary, Llewie, Lizzie, Bill and Bert. Andrew Davison died in 1933 and Mary Ann in 1936; the farm was bequeathed to Bert and Bill Davison, neither of whom married. Upon their deaths, Theo Stancel Strange, the son of Sims Strange, inherited the farms. Lizzie married Thompson and had a daughter Edith Thompson. Edith lived on the farm most of her life.

Martynec Family

  • martynec_family
  • Famille
  • 1899-2018

The Martynec family, although not entirely representative, was part of the post-World War II wave of Ukrainian refugees and displaced persons who settled in Canada.
Volodymyr Martynec (1899-1960) was born into a Ukrainian middle class family in the city of Lviv (then also formally known as Lemberg [in German] or Lwów [in Polish]), Crownland of Galicia, Austro-Hungarian Empire (now Ukraine). He was educated in the city’s primary and secondary schools and participated in the Ukrainian armed struggle for independence (1918-20) as a member of the (Ukrainian) Sich Riflemen. After the Great War he was active in the Ukrainian student movement while studying law at Lviv’s Ukrainian Underground University (1921-23), economics at the Higher Commercial School in Prague, Czechoslovakia (1923-26), political science and journalism in Berlin, Germany (1927-29), and philosophy at the Sorbonne, in Paris, France (1934-36). In 1927, he became one of the leaders of the underground Ukrainian Military Organization (UVO) and one of the founders of the militant and radical Organization of Ukrainian Nationalists (OUN). In subsequent years, he served as a member of the OUN Leadership (Provid) and as editor of some of its most important ideological journals, including Surma (The Bugle; 1927-33), Rozbudova natsii (Building the Nation; 1928-1934) and the Parisian Ukrains’ke slovo (The Ukrainian Word; 1934-40). In 1941, Martynec and his family returned to German-occupied eastern Galicia or western Ukraine where he became one of the leaders of the OUN Melnyk faction (OUN[m]). In 1944 the Germans incarcerated Martynec at the Brätz (Brójce) Work / Re-Education (Arbeitserziehungslager) camp in western Poland. After the war, Martynec and his family spent time in the Displaced Persons’ Camps in Karlsfeld (1945-46) and Berchtesgaden (1946-48), Germany. In January 1949, the family left Germany and settled in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, where Martynec became one of the editors of the weekly Novyi shliakh (New Pathway; 1949-60), the official organ of the Ukrainian National Federation, a Ukrainian-Canadian mass organization ideologically aligned with the OUN(m). He also served on the presidium of the Ukrainian Canadian Committee. The author of 18 books and pamphlets, in particular Ukrains’ke pidpillia: vid UVO do OUN (The Ukrainian Underground: From the UVO to the OUN; 1949), and over 4,000 periodical and newspaper articles, Martynec died in Winnipeg in 1960.

Around 1930 Martynec married Irena Turkevycz (1899-1983), the daughter of a Ukrainian Greek Catholic priest, catechist, choir conductor, and music critic. Born in the town of Brody, she grew up and was educated in Lviv and in Vienna. Her education included music lessons (voice, piano, theory) from a very early age, and featured private instruction by the composer Stanyslav Liudkevych. During the 1920s Irena studied music and acting at the Lviv Conservatory and drama school, made her debut as a concert soloist, and also performed on the stage of the Lviv Theatre of Opera and Ballet. During the early 1930s she studied voice at the Berlin University of the Arts, and in Prague, where she sang with the Prague Opera. Between 1942 and 1944, when the family resided in Lviv, she sang a number of major roles with the Lviv Theatre of Opera and Ballet. She continued to participate actively in Ukrainian opera and theatre productions in Karlsfeld, Karlsbad and Berchtesgaden, Germany, during the immediate post-war years. After emigrating to Canada in 1949, Irena Turkevycz-Martynec was particularly active with youth and children’s groups, staging and directing very successful and memorable productions of Mykola Lysenko’s children’s operetta Koza-Dereza (in the early 1950s and then again in 1964), and Zymova kralia (The Snow Queen) in 1965. In 1967, her troupe of youthful singers performed Koza-Dereza at Expo 67. She passed away in Winnipeg in 1983.

Lew Martynec (1934-2018), the only child of Volodymyr Martynec and Irena Turkevycz-Martynec, was born in Paris, France, where he spent the first seven years of his life and started his primary education. He accompanied his parents when they returned to western Ukraine in 1941 and spent his teenage years in the Displaced Person’s camps in Karlsfeld and Berchtesgaden, Germany. He completed his high school education in Winnipeg and studied engineering at the University of Manitoba (but apparently did not graduate). He worked for the City of St. Boniface and the City of Winnipeg as a department manager responsible for approving street construction plans. An avid outdoorsman, he passed away in 2018.
Stephania Luchynska-Pohorecky (“Doda”) (1923-2015), an only child and an orphan, was the niece of Irena Turkevycz-Martynec. She joined the Martynec family in Lviv around 1943 and stayed with the family as they migrated from western Ukraine to the Displaced Person’s camps in Karlsfeld and Berchtesgaden, Germany, and then on to Winnipeg. In Winnipeg she met and later married Zenon Pohorecky (the son of “Novyi shliakh/New Pathway” founder and co-editor Michael Pohorecky), an anthropologist who completed his PhD at the University of California (Berkeley) and taught for many years at the University of Saskatchewan.

The fonds also contain several photographs of Stefania Turkewicz-Lukianowicz (1898-1977), older sister of Irena Turkevycz-Martynec, a composer, pianist and musicologist, educated in Lviv and Prague, who immigrated to the United Kingdom after WWII.

Glass, Helen

  • glass_h
  • Personne
  • 1917-2015

HELEN PRESTON GLASS, B.Sc.N., M.A., M.Ed., & Ed.D., (Columbia), LL.D. (Hon. Causa, Memorial), LL.D. (Hon. Causa, Western)

Born in Regina, Saskatchewan in 1917, and educated in Saskatchewan schools until the end of grade twelve, Dr. Helen Preston Glass began her university education at the University of Saskatchewan’s School of Home Economics. After one successful year there, she decided instead to pursue a career in nursing, and completed a three-year degree program at the Royal Victoria Hospital School of Nursing in Montréal, Québec in 1939. She then stayed on at that facility as a supervisor in the Anaesthetic Department, and subsequently moved on to many other nursing positions in general hospitals in Dunnville, Ontario; Abbotsford, British Columbia; and Prince Albert, Saskatchewan between 1941 and 1945. From 1952 to 1953, Dr. Glass worked as a clinic nurse in an obstetric clinic in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Dr. Glass began her career teaching nursing at the Holy Family School of Nursing, in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, from 1953 to 1955. Here, she taught courses in foundations, issues and trends in nursing at both undergraduate and graduate levels, and developed and taught a new clinical teaching program. She then moved on to Victoria General Hospital, in Winnipeg, Manitoba, where she taught both basic sciences and clinical nursing courses. She earned a Certificate in Teaching and Supervision from the University of Manitoba in 1958, and furthered this pursuit at Columbia University Teacher’s College, completing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing in 1960 and a Master of Arts in 1961. She then became the first person to assume the position of Education Secretary for the Manitoba Association of Registered Nurses (MARN). As such, she was responsible for planning and conducting workshops and providing consultation to Schools of Nursing. Glass acted as liaison with other health disciplines in Manitoba, and as secretary to the various committees associated with MARN. She was also instrumental in creating the Manitoba Nursing Research Institute (now the Manitoba Centre for Nursing and Health Research).

In 1962, she joined the Faculty of the University of Manitoba School of Nursing, teaching programs for both new students and registered nurses. She was primarily responsible for the design and implementation of introductory and third year level courses for the first four-year baccalaureate nursing program which began in 1963. After completing her Master of Education in 1970, and Doctor of Education (Nursing) in 1971, again at Columbia University, Dr. Glass returned to the Faculty, and in 1972 became full professor and Director of the School of Nursing. She received honorary Doctor of Law degrees from Memorial University in 1983, the University of Western Ontario in 1986, St. Francis Xavier University in 1991, and the University of Montreal in 1993, and an honorary Doctor of Science degree from McGill University in 1995.

Dr. Glass has been the recipient of a number of awards honouring her achievements in both nursing and education. Upon her graduation from the Royal Victoria Hospital School of Nursing in 1939, she received the award for Proficiency in Bedside Nursing. She was awarded the Dr. Katherine E. McLaggen Fellowship Award from the Canadian Nurses’ Foundation for both 1968/69 and 1969/70, and the Marion Woodward Award and Lecture from the University of British Columbia in 1974, and the Queen’s Silver Jubilee Medal in appreciation of exemplary service in 1977. She was named one of 1979's Women of the Year by the YWCA. She was also awarded the R. Louise McManus Medal from the Nursing Education Alumni Association of Teachers’ College, Columbia University, and the Jeanne Mance Award of the Canadian Nurses’ Association in 1992. In 1993 she was given the Special Achievement Award by MARN, among many other honours.

Dr. Glass has been both member and chair of several professional associations and committees, at the university, provincial, national, and international levels. Examples include membership in the Council of the Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing (CAUSN), the National Nursing Committee of the Canadian Red Cross Society, the Board of Directors of the Big Sister Association of Winnipeg and the University of Manitoba Senate Executive Committee. She has served on the Manitoba Association of Registered Nurses Social Policy Committee, and the YW/YMCA Board of Directors and the Manitoba Health Research Council.

Dr. Glass has also been an invited member of the Task Force on Euthanasia and Definition of Death, Law Reform Committee of Canada, and was a member of the Review Board for the National Health Grants Directorate. She has consulted on health care proposals and nursing education programs within Canada, and has helped develop submissions to the Advisory Council on the Status of Women, the Hall Commission, and the Canada Health Act. She has been President of MARN, President and member of the Canadian Nurses’ Association (CNA) Board of Directors, and a member of the Canadian Nurses’ Foundation (CNF) Board of Directors. She was active in the Canadian Conference University Schools of Nursing, and served on the Canadian Delegation to the World Health Assembly in 1983 and again in 1985.

Politically, she was very active in educating nurses across Canada and enlisting their support to successfully introduce health care amendments to the Canada Health Act, which went through 1982 to 1984, while Dr. Glass was president of the CNA. She has also been active in the Canadian Health Care Economics Association, and presented the first paper by a Canadian nurse on “Economics of Nursing: Cost Effective Strategies,” to the Second Canadian Conference.

Following Dr. Glass’s retirement from the faculty of nursing at the University of Manitoba in 1986, the Canadian Nurses Foundation established the Doctor Helen Preston Glass Fellowship for Doctorate Study, awarded annually to a student pursuing their graduate degree in nursing.

In 1988, Dr. Glass was made an Officer of the Order of Canada and received the Order of Manitoba in 2008. In 1995, she was given a honourary life membership in the Canadian Public Health Association, in recognition of outstanding services in the promotion of public health. In 1989, after her retirement from the University of Manitoba, Glass was named Professor Emerita. 1999, the University of Manitoba honoured Dr. Glass by naming their new nursing building after her. Her Royal Highness, Princess Anne, dedicated the building during her visit for the 1999 Pan American games. In 2013, Glass was presented with the Centennial Ward from the College of Registered Nurses of Manitoba.

Dr. Glass published widely on nursing and health care in professional journals in Canada and the United States, and internationally in French, English, and Danish. Dr. Helen Glass passed away on February 14, 2015.

King, John M.

  • king_j
  • Personne
  • 1829-1899

John M. King was born in Yitholm, Scotland in 1829. While still quite young, he enrolled at the University of Edinburgh where he studied mathematics, philosophy, and theology graduating with an M.A. in 1856. After furthering his theological studies at the University of Halle in Germany, he came to Canada to take up Presbyterian ministries in Galt, Ingersoll, Columbus and Whitby, Ontario (then known as Canada West). He was appointed minister of Gould Street in 1863, which then became St. James Square Church in Toronto in 1879. In 1873, King married Janet Macpherson Skinner, who operated with her sister a school for young women. In 1882, King received the degree of D.D. (Doctor of Divinity) from Knox College.

While serving as moderator of the General Assembly in 1883, he accepted the position of first principal and professor of theology at Manitoba College in Winnipeg, forerunner of the University of Winnipeg. In 1886, King's wife and son died. King made a memorial window for his wife in the convocation hall of Manitoba College (the window was later moved to Bryce Hall). King lived in Winnipeg until his death in 1899. He was widely-known and highly regarded as a leading Presbyterian theologian, educator and administrator. His daughter, Helen, married the Reverend Charles William Gordon (Ralph Connor). For more information, please see Box 14, folder 12.

Klymasz, Robert Bohdan

  • klymasz_rb
  • Personne
  • 1936-

Dr. Robert Bohdan Klymasz was born in Toronto, Ontario in 1936. In 1957, he obtained a B.A. from the University of Toronto, and later studied at the University of Manitoba (M.A., 1960), Harvard University (1960-1962), Charles University, Prague (1962), and Indiana University in Bloomington (Ph.D., 1971). His doctoral dissertation “Ukrainian Folklore in Canada: an Immigrant Complex in Transition” was supervised by Richard M. Dorson. He married Shirley Zaporzan in 1963, and they had two daughters, Andrea and Lara. In 1967, he joined the Canadian Museum of Civilization and served as its first programme director for Slavic and East European Studies. Throughout his career, he has held several prestigious positions, including the executive director of the Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre (Oseredok) in Winnipeg, visiting associate professor in Folklore at Memorial University's Department of Folklore, visiting professor in Folklore and Slavic Studies at the University of California at Los Angeles, and visiting scholar at Harvard Divinity School.

In 1993, as a curator with the Museum of Civilization, Dr. Klymasz began a comprehensive study on community life in Gimli, Manitoba. Fieldwork on this project began in 1993 and continued on an annual basis every summer until the summer of 2001. The project, which became known as the Gimli Community Research Project (G.C.R.P.), was meant to offer insight on what makes the Town of Gimli a safe and prosperous town in which to live. The early work was low-key in nature, focusing on the town's life and culture, for example, attending meetings of the town's council, various public forums, proceedings of the local public law court, and meetings of the Board for the New Iceland Heritage Museum. Gradually, the fieldwork shifted to monitoring phenomena that gave Gimli its "dreamtown" quality. The final report was completed in 2002 and was entitled ""Dream Town": Art and the Celebration of Place in Gimli, Manitoba."

Upon his retirement in 2000, he was named Curator Emeritus with the Canadian Museum of Civilization. Dr. Klymasz is a renowned expert on Ukrainian Canadian folklore, having extensively written, published, and lectured on this subject. His publications include An Introduction to the Ukrainian-Canadian Folksong Cycle (1970), Ukrainian Folklore in Canada (1980), 'Svieto': Celebrating Ukrainian-Canadian Ritual in East Central Alberta Through the Generations (1992), and The Icon in Canada (1996). Dr. Klymasz also published numerous articles in scholarly journals, and many reviews of books and exhibitions in Canada's Ukrainian and Icelandic ethnic press. He continues to pursue his recent interests with grants from the University of Alberta (CIUS) and the University of Manitoba (CUCS).

Dr. Klymasz was awarded the Marius-Barbeau Prize by the Folklore Studies Association of Canada (Laval University) for his studies in Ukrainian Canadian Folklore. In 2005, he completed the Archival Research Project on Walter Klymkiw, the conductor of Koshetz Choir, titled "Playing around with Choir": the Correspondence and Papers of Walter P. Klymkiw. The manuscript is held at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. Between 2006 and 2012 he completed several archival research projects including “A priest, a maestro, a community: epistolary insights into the music culture of Winnipeg's Ukrainian community, 1936-1944” (2006-2007), “Winnipeg Papers on Ukrainian Music” (2008), “Nuggets from the past: quotations on the Ukrainian experience in Canada” (2007), “Winnipeg Papers on Ukrainian Book Culture” (2009), and “Winnipeg Papers No. 5 “Cossacks and Indians? Encounters, Abductions, Guilt, Ballads and Empathy on the Prairie and Beyond” (2012). The manuscripts are held at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections. In 2013 a Ukrainian translation of Klymasz's 1971 Indiana University PhD dissertation was published in Ukrainian, under the title, 'Ukrains'ka narodna kul'tura v kanads'kykh preriiakh' (Kyiv: Duliby, 2013).

Konantz, Margaret

  • konantz_m
  • Personne
  • 1899-1967

Margaret McTavish Konantz was born Margaret McTavish Rogers in 1899, the daughter of Robert Arthur Rogers and Edith McTavish Rogers. Her father, who had been a successful private banker in Parkhill, Ontario, moved to Winnipeg in 1890 where he established a wholesale produce company. Fifteen years later, he opened the Crescent Creamery Company which he operated successfully until his death. Her mother was the daughter of Donald McTavish and Lydia Catherine Christie (who was Métis). Margaret Konantz's great-grandparents were Betsy Sinclair (who was Métis) and Sir George Simpson, Governor-in-Chief of the Hudson's Bay Company Territories from 1839 to 1860. In 1920 Edith Rogers was elected to the Provincial Legislative Assembly, thereby becoming the first woman in Manitoba to hold such a position. She was an MLA from 1920 to 1932.

Margaret Konantz grew up at 64 Nassau Street in south Winnipeg. She attended the Model School, Bishop Strachan School and Havergal College in Toronto. After completing her studies at Bishop Strachan School, she attended Miss Spence's School in New York. In 1922 she married Gordon Konantz, an American who, after serving with the forces in France, moved to Winnipeg. They had three children, Barbara, William and Gordon.

In the late 1920s Margaret Konantz began collecting books for the Winnipeg Hospital Aid Society, thus initiating a career of service which was to continue throughout her life. She was a founding member of the Junior League of Winnipeg and eventually became a major fund-raiser for that organization. She was President of the Junior League from 1928 to 1930. During this time she was instrumental in organizing the Junior League Thrift Shop, and subsequently served on its board. Through the years she held many offices with the following volunteer organizations: Winnipeg General Hospital; White Cross Guild; Convalescent Hospital; Crippled Children’s Society; Community Chest of Greater Winnipeg; Junior League of Winnipeg; International Junior League Association; Central Volunteer Bureau; Council of Social Agencies; Canadian Welfare Council; and the Canadian Centenary Committee.

With the outbreak of World War II, Margaret Konantz became even more involved with volunteer work. She organized the Patriotic Salvage Corps, Bundles for Britain and the Women's Volunteer Services in Western Canada. Because of her intense involvement with the war effort in Canada, she was chosen as one of a team of four women sent to Britain in 1944 by the Canadian Government to participate in the work of the Women's Voluntary Service.

Shortly afterwards, in 1946, she was awarded the Order of the British Empire for her outstanding contributions in this area. Deeply impressed with the W.V.S and the work it was doing in war-torn England, she wrote a lengthy report on the W.V.S. for the Canadian government on returning to Canada. This later became a handbook for the Women's Volunteer Service. After the death of her husband in 1954, Margaret Konantz embarked on a series of extensive tours to foreign countries. During her travels in South America she wrote descriptive letters rich in detail and local colour. In the winter of 1955 she was invited by Lady Stella Reading, Chairman of the W.V.S. in Britain, to visit England to observe and work with the W.V.S.

On her return, she decided to devote her energies to the United Nations to work in the interest of international peace. In accordance with her desire to study the activities of the United Nations at first hand, she spent three months in 1957 touring the Asian region of UNICEF, visiting the following countries: Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong, The Philippines, Thailand, Cambodia, India, Pakistan, Iraq, Lebanon, Jordan and Israel. Following the tour, she traveled throughout Canada speaking to various organizations about the activities of the United Nations. In 1960 she became Chairman for the Manitoba Committee for Refugee Year, which raised $127,000 to help clear a refugee camp in West Germany. In 1961, she spent four months travelling throughout parts of Africa to observe UNICEF activities.

In 1962, she decided to become a candidate for federal office. Convinced that she could make a significant contribution, she later wrote, "Between the years 1956 and 1961 I had found that our image abroad had deteriorated to such an extent that I was anxious to do anything I could to serve my country." As a candidate for the Liberal Party, she lost her first election in 1962 by 392 votes, but won the following year in the riding of Winnipeg South. Her platform included the expansion of technical schools and of retraining programs for workers and the provision of additional financial aid for students. She wanted Winnipeg to participate more prominently on the national scene and to see Canada more active in international affairs. Konantz was the first female M.P. from Manitoba and one of the four women elected that year.

In 1963, she was appointed to the 18th General Assembly of the United Nations Third Committee on Social, Economic and Humanitarian Problems. In this capacity she helped formulate a declaration regarding the elimination of racial discrimination. Two years later, she was again chosen as a UN delegate. In August of 1963, as part of her parliamentary duties, she toured some of the reserves of Northern Ontario, Manitoba, Alberta and British Columbia.

She lost her bid to win a second term as M.P. for Winnipeg South in 1965, but looked on this defeat as an opportunity to devote more time to her United Nations activities. She was National Vice-Chairman for the Canadian Committee of UNICEF from 1959 to 1965, and in 1965 was elected National Chairman. In that capacity she represented Canada at the Nobel Peace Prize ceremonies in Oslo, Norway, during which UNICEF was awarded a Nobel prize. She spent most of the next eighteen months travelling abroad. In 1965, she went to Guyana to participate in the twinning of their capital city with Ottawa as part of the ceremonies of the International Year of Co-operation. The following year she traveled to Turkey and Tunisia to study developing countries which had initiated self-help programs with UNICEF. She also visited England and Ireland. After returning, she again toured the country speaking to various groups and organizations in support of the United Nations. During a speaking engagement in the Maritime provinces, she suffered a heart attack and died in May 1967.

Knysh, George D.

  • knysh_g
  • Personne
  • 1940-

George Dmytro Knysh, a retired associate professor in the Department of Political Studies at the University of Manitoba, is the son of the prominent Ukrainian political and community activist and author, Zynovii Knysh (1906-1999), and Irena Knysh (1909-2000), a journalist and the author of many books on the Ukrainian women's movement. He was born on October 8, 1940 in Cracow, Poland and received his Canadian citizenship in 1955. George Knysh graduated from the University of Manitoba with a B.A. in Latin Philosophy (1959) and an M.A. (1962) in Political Science. In 1968, he obtained a Ph.D. from the London School of Economics for his dissertation “Political Authority as Property and Trusteeship in the Works of William of Ockham”. He is a recipient of the Snider Memorial Fellowship (1962) and the Canada Council Fellowship (1970-1971). His articles and reviews on Ockham have appeared in Franciscan Studies, The Catholic Historical Review, Speculum: A Journal of Medieval Studies and other scholarly journals.

George Knysh is well known for his booklet Combat Correspondence: Selected Epistolary Confrontations on the Question of Ukrainian Identity published in Winnipeg in 1971. He has also published scholarly articles and brief monographs on Ukrainian Christianity and Ukraine in Mediaeval times, including “Eastern Slavs and the Christian Millennium of 1988” (1987); “The Methodian roots of mediaeval Ukrainian Christianity” (1989); “Rus’ and Ukraine in Mediaeval times” (1991); “Taiemnytsia pochatkovoi Rusy v Kyievi” (1991); and an edited version of Leonid Bilets’kyi’s “Rus'ka Pravda i istoriia ii tekstu” (1993). Most of these titles were published by the Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences (UVAN) in Winnipeg.
By publishing the book U 90-littia Zynoviia Knysha (1996), he honoured his father's Ukrainian patriotism. His book Michael Sherbinin in Winnipeg: a preliminary study (1994) paid tribute to the well-known philanthropist, scholar, and theologian. George Knysh has also written many articles for various Ukrainian newspapers and publications of the Ukrainian Historical Association.

As a historian and political analyst, he is a member of many academic institutions including the Canadian Political Science Association, the Mediaeval Academy of America, and the New York Academy of Science. Dr. George Knysh is fluent in many languages including Ukrainian, French, Polish, Russian, and Latin. He is currently working on Irena Knysh's correspondence regarding her numerous publications.

Kuplowska, Olga

  • kuplowska_o
  • Personne
  • 1949-

Olga (Olya) Kuplowska was born and raised in Montreal, Quebec. She studied at McGill University (B.A., Major in Psychology) and at the University of Toronto (M.A., Applied Psychology). She took early retirement from TVOntario, Ontario's educational broadcaster, where she worked for over 32 years in several capacities: as a Research Officer testing program concepts and pilots with children and students, as Director of Policy, Research and Planning, and as the Board Secretary and Director of the Board Secretariat. While at TVOntario, she represented the organization at various international forums, participated in international research ventures, and guest lectured at different universities. Her research activities included not only broadcast television but also television based learning systems and new technologies.

Throughout her life, Kuplowska has been an active member/supporter of the Ukrainian-Canadian community. Growing up in Montreal, she was a member of the Ukrainian Youth Association (SUM) and the Poltava Dance Ensemble. Moving to Toronto in the early seventies, she became active in SUSK (Ukrainian-Canadian Students Union) and served on various defence committees such as the Committee in Defence of Soviet Political Prisoners, the Plyusch Tour Committee, and Action for Women’s Rights in the USSR. Later she became involved with the Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Association and served on its Board for many years. She has also served on other community boards, including those of St. Vladimir Institute and the Ukrainian Canadian Research and Documentation Centre. In addition, she has volunteered hundreds of hours as needed to numerous activities and projects over the years. In 2001 she was elected President of the Canadian Foundation for Ukrainian Studies, a position she held for the next two decades.
Now that she is in semi-retirement, her key interests remain women's and human rights, multiculturalism, education, and the environment.

L'Ami, C. E. (Charles Ernest)

  • l'ami
  • Personne
  • 1896-1981

Charles Ernest L'Ami (L'Amie) was born in Ireland in 1896. His family immigrated to Canada in 1907 and settled in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Charles L'Ami attended the Saskatoon Collegiate Institute and, after serving in the Canadian Army during World War I, assumed a position with the Saskatoon Star, thereby beginning his career in journalism. Between 1922 and 1938, he worked for the Winnipeg Tribune, Winnipeg Free Press, Border City Star (Ontario), and Winnipeg Mirror. In 1938, he joined the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation as press representative for the prairie region and editor of CBC Times. In 1954, he was promoted to the position of supervisor of information services. After retirement in 1961, he produced the radio program "Neighbourly News from the Prairies." From 1962 to 1977, L'Ami continued to submit radio scripts. In 1952, his novel The Green Madonna won the Westminster Prize for fiction. He lectured on journalism and creative writing at the University of Manitoba Evening Institute from 1945 to 1951.

Kent, David A.

  • David_Kent
  • Personne
  • 1948-

David A. Kent was born in Winnipeg in 1948 and did his undergraduate degree in history and English at the University of Winnipeg (1970). After completing his MA in English at Queen’s University, he taught at the University of British Columbia for two years (1971-1973) before doing a PhD at York in Toronto (1979). He began teaching at Centennial College in Toronto in 1978 and retired at the end of 2011. He has been active in such professional organizations as the Association of Canadian College and University Teachers of English and the Modern Language Association of America.

He has published numerous reviews and articles and written, edited, or co-edited a dozen books on a variety of topics, including English poet Christina Rossetti, a family history, a parish history, early modern English literature, Romantic parodies, and religious poetry. He has a special interest in Canadian poet Margaret Avison.

Together with his wife, Margo Swiss, he began The St. Thomas Poetry Series at St. Thomas’s Church, Huron Street, in Toronto in 1988. In 1996 the readings series was complemented by the publication of books by Christian poets. The series is ongoing. As of 2016, thirty publications have been issued.

Reeve, Gordon

  • Gordon_Reeve
  • Personne
  • 1946-

Gordon Reeve was born in Chatham, Ontario in 1946, to Bert Reeve and Audrey (Burrell) Reeve. He received a Bachelor of Fine Arts (1971) from Cranbrook Academy of Art and a Master of Fine Arts (1973) from the Rhode Island School of Design. Reeve moved to Winnipeg and began lecturing at the University of Manitoba in 1976, where he served as a professor and Sculpture Chair at the School of Art until 2013. He specializes in public sculpture and sculpture in the urban environment.

Reeve’s first commissioned sculpture was "One Edgel Road," a 1500-lb, 20’ bronze fountain erected in Framingham, Massachusetts, in 1972. He sculpts using a variety of materials, including wood, blown and cast glass, marble, concrete, onyx, stainless steel, bronze, and granite, and many of his works incorporate kinetic, light, digital, or buoyant elements. His sculptures have appeared across the United States, Italy, and Canada. He is the creator of "Drumlin" (1977, Winnipeg Art Gallery), "Justice" (1985, Manitoba Provincial Court), "Les Mefagerriques" (2007, Ottawa), and "Agassiz Ice" (2008, Assiniboine Park, Winnipeg), among others.

In 1987, Reeve began his career as a filmmaker with "Harvest – The Tradition," a 13-part series. He directed nineteen more films between 1987 and 2002. Many of his early films are records of art exhibitions of artists such as Pablo Picasso, Georges Braque, Vladimir Baranoff Rossine, Marcel Duchamp, Otto Dix, Wassily Kandinsky, Antoine Bourdelle, Ossip Zadkine, Auguste Rodin, Constantin Brancusi, and Ivan Eyre. These include "A Language to be Seen" (1987), "The Father He Never Knew" (1987), "Statues That Will Sing" (1987), "Enigma" (parts one and two, 1987)," I Must Paint What I See" (1987), "Future Imperfect" (1988), "The Music of Colour" (1988), "In Hidden Gardens" (1988), "Brancusi Miastra" (1988), and "I Am the Hornblower" (1988).

In 1988, Reeve directed his first feature-length documentary, "The Will to Win (La rage de vaincre)," about Canadian architect Carlos Ott, who won the bid to design L’Opera Bastille in Paris. The documentary, shot on 16-mm film in Monaco, Paris, Venice, Montevideo, Verona, New York, and Toronto, features Luciano Pavarotti, Barbara Hendricks, and Theresa Berganza, as well as Formula 1 drivers Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna. The accession contains archival footage filmed in La Fenice, Venice, and The Arena, Verona.

In 1990, Reeve produced, wrote, and directed "Moment of Light – The Dance of Evelyn Hart," his second feature-length documentary, co-produced with the National Film Board of Canada. The film follows renowned Winnipeg ballet dancer Evelyn Hart as she rehearses and performs across Winnipeg, Munich, and Paris. The film received a number of awards, including the Red Ribbon Award at the American Film and Video Festival, the Silver Plaque at the Chicago International Film Festival, the Bronze Apple at the National Educational Film and Video Festival, and the Bronze Plaque at the Columbus International Film and Video Festival. The accession contains archival footage filmed in Palais Garnier and La Scala, Milano.

Other films in Reeve’s filmography include "Walks Fast Woman" (1992-1993), "Blue Salute" (1997-1998), "Right to No" (1996-1998), and "Harawi – Olivier Messaien" (2002).

Reeve has been involved in many art initiatives in Winnipeg. Every year between 1992 and 2007, he organized THE BURNING, a collaborative class sculpture project which involved the creation of a six-to-twelve-foot high combustible sculpture. The event attracted hundreds of viewers.

In 2009, he requested inclusion of sculpture in the BMO 1st Art! Invitational Student Art Competition, the only art competition across Canada at the post-secondary level, which prior to that time had featured only two-dimensional art. His request was successful; the following year, both the national and provincial winners were graduating students from Reeve’s class.

Reeve also initiated Art on the Avenue, a $120,000 collaboration with the Winnipeg Downtown Biz to fund twenty sculpture students to create large-scale sculpture works on Portage Avenue in downtown Winnipeg. This project led to the creation of the Collaboration to Promote Art and Music, jointly funded by the University of Manitoba and University of Manitoba Student Union, which is ongoing.

Reeve received the Student’s Teacher Recognition Award/Certificate of Teaching Excellence from the University of Manitoba in 2008, 2010, and 2012. He formally retired from teaching in 2013.

Shkandrij, Myroslav

  • shkandrij_m
  • Personne
  • 1950 -

Dr. Myroslav Shkandrij was a Professor in the Department of German and Slavic Studies, University of Manitoba. He was born on March 17, 1950, in Leeds, England. Shkandrij studied at Cambridge University (B.A.,1972) and then at the University of Toronto, where he studied with George Luckyj and received an M.A. (1973) and a Ph.D. (1980). He taught at the Universities of Calgary and Ottawa during the 1980s. Between 1977 and 1987, he was on the editorial board of Diyaloh, a journal of the young generation of Ukrainians in the West, and he was active in the Ukrainian Canadian University Students Union (SUSK). The journal was published three times per year. The Ukrainian Student Group smuggled issues of their publication to Ukraine during the Cold War. During those years, Shkandrij served on the Committee in Defense of Soviet Political Prisoners and many other Ukrainian institutions and organizations in Canada (CIUS, KUK).

In 2001, Shkandrij organized the first North American exhibition devoted to the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art, “Phenomenon of the Ukrainian Avant-Garde”. It covered the period from the 1910s through 1930s. As a curator for the Winnipeg Art Gallery, and in cooperation with the National Art Museum of Ukraine, he introduced to Winnipeg the Ukrainian Avant-Garde art hidden during the Stalinist years. Artists such as David Burliuk, Mykhailo Boichuk, Kazimir Malevich, Alexander Archipenko and others represented modern trends in art such as Cubism, Futurism or Constructivism.Shkandrij researched the life and art of David Burliuk and organized another exhibit for the Winnipeg Art Gallery in 2008 titled “Futurism and After: David Burliuk, 1882-1967.”

Dr. Shkandrij is the author of more than 50 journal articles and book chapters as well as 6 major monographs: Modernists, Marxists and the Nation: The Ukrainian Literary Discussion of the 1920s (Edmonton: CIUS Press, University of Alberta, 1992); Russia and Ukraine: Literature and the Discourse of Empire From Napoleonic to Postcolonial Times (McGill-Queen's UP, 2001); Jews in Ukrainian Literature: Representation and Identity (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2009); Ukrainian Nationalism: Politics, Ideology and Literature, 1929-1956 (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2015); Avant-garde Art in Ukraine: Contested Memory, 1910-1930 (Boston: Academic Studies Press, 2019); and Revolutionary Ukraine, 1917-2017: Flashpoints in History and Contemporary Memory Wars (New York: Routledge, 2019). He has also translated several books from Ukrainian into English and edited or co-edited 6 volumes.

Dr. Shkandrij is a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies and the Canadian Association of Slavists. He taught in the Department of German and Slavic Studies at the University of Manitoba from 1987 until 2019, and served as Head or Acting Head of the Department from 1990 to 2009. In 2010, he received the Faculty of Arts Professor of the Year award. Upon his retirement in 2019, he was named Professor Emeritus.

John Hirsch

  • hirsh_j
  • Personne
  • 1949-1973

John Hirsch was born in Hungary in 1930. He came to Canada in 1947 at age 17 through the War Orphans Project of the Canadian Jewish Congress. This project worked with children under 18 who had survived the Holocaust but no longer had an adult to act as guardian. He was taken in by Alex and Pauline Shack, and their daughter Sybil, in Winnipeg and continued a close relationship with the family throughout his life.

In 1952, Hirsch graduated with a BA in English literature from the University of Manitoba. He established a puppet theatre before co-founding Theatre 77 with Tom Hendry in 1957. In 1958, Hirsch and Hendry amalgamated Theatre 77 with Winnipeg Little Theatre into the Manitoba Theatre Centre (MTC). This theatre became the model for regional theatre through Canada and the United States. Hirsch was the first artistic director of MTC and stayed until 1966 when he then became co-artistic director at the Stratford Festival from 1967-1969. From 1974-1978, he was head of CBC’s television drama. Hirsch was consulting artistic director at the Seattle Repertory Theatre from 1979-1981. He returned to the Stratford Festival as artistic director from 1981-1985.

Hirsch is recognized as one of Canada’s most prominent theatre directors. He was awarded the Order of Canada in 1967. He also received Obie, Outer Circle Critics' and Los Angeles Drama Critics' Circle Awards for his productions in the United States. The John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer was established by the Manitoba Foundation for the Arts in 1989 to honour him.

Hirsch died on August 1, 1989 in Toronto after being ill with AIDS.

Indigenous Languages of Rupert's Land

  • indigenouslanguagesrl
  • Collectivité
  • 196?-198?

The purpose of the Indigenous Languages of Rupert's Land Collection was to preserve material related to the Indigenous languages in Canada, which are not normally retained in the general library collection, in order to meet the instructional needs of the University of Manitoba Department of Linguistics, and the Native Languages program of the Department of Native Studies. One copy of each title was retained. The language families included were Algonquian, Athapaskan, Inuit-Aleut, and Siouan.

Olexander Koshetz Choir

  • Collectivité
  • ca. 1941 -

The Olexander Koshetz Choir traces its origins to the annual summer Higher Education Courses (HEC) sponsored in Winnipeg from 1941 through 1962 by the Ukrainian National Federation (UNF). In addition to Ukrainian language, literature, culture and history classes, the courses offered instruction in the art of choral singing and conducting. Initially the music program was directed by the renowned New York-based Ukrainian choir conductor and arranger Olexander Koshetz (Oleksander Koshyts’; 1875-1944), who had served as conductor and choirmaster of the Kyiv Opera during the Great War and led the Ukrainian Republican Capella (Ukrainian National Choir), on very successful tours of Europe and the Americas between 1919 and 1926. After his death in Winnipeg, in September 1944, Koshetz was succeeded by his widow Tetiana Koshetz (-1966), a voice teacher, and his local colleague and assistant, the musicologist Dr. Paul Macenko (Pavlo Matsenko; 1897-1991). Each year the courses concluded with a choral concert in which all of the students, conducted by Koshetz and/or Macenko, participated.

In 1946, a number of HEC participants and alumni, led by Halia Cham and encouraged by Tetiana Koshetz and Dr. Macenko, established the Winnipeg Ukrainian National Youth Federation (UNYF) Choir. The first permanent Ukrainian youth choir in the city, it received moral and financial support from the UNF’s Winnipeg and St. Boniface branches, doubled as “a school of Ukrainian culture,” and initiated the practice of touring Ukrainian rural communities and performing at local festivals. When the choir’s founder and first conductor Halia Cham moved to Eastern Canada in 1948, Dr. Macenko and Mrs. Koshetz led the choir until 1951. At that point Walter Klymkiw (1926-2000), who had immigrated to Canada as a child with his parents, attended the 1944 HEC, graduated from the University of British Columbia, and recently entered the teaching profession, became the choir’s conductor and musical director. He would lead the choir (which became known as the Ukrainian National Federation Choir in 1964, and officially changed its name to the O. Koshetz Memorial Choir in 1967) for the rest of his life. In the process, he made it one of Western Canada’s finest amateur choirs, the most prominent and representative Ukrainian choir in the country, and an important cultural bridge between Ukrainian Canadians and the land of their ancestors during and after the Cold War.

Among the many highlights in the history of the Olexander Koshetz Choir during its first 30 years, the following events stand out: the Choir’s first trip to the United States and successful performance in Minneapolis (1955); back-to-back victories in the choral competition at the Manitoba Music Festival (1961 and 1962); an invitation to perform at the Canadian National Exhibition in Toronto (1962); the first of many performances on the CBC radio and television networks (1962 and 1963); selection as pre-centennial musical ambassadors to Eastern Canada with performances at Moncton NB, Halifax NS and Montréal PQ (1966); an appearance as guests of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (WSO) under Victor Feldbril at one of the orchestra’s Pop Concerts, the first of many engagements with the WSO (1966); performances at Expo ’67 in Montreal where Walter Klymkiw first met Ukraine’s Veriovka Choir, directed by Anatoliy Avdievsky (1967); a Winnipeg concert with guest soloist Andrij Dobriansky of New York’s Metropolitan Opera Company (1969); a concert marking Manitoba’s centennial at the new Centennial Concert Hall also featuring the Rusalka Dancers and Roxolana Ruslak of Toronto’s Canadian Opera Company (1970); a performance in the WSO's 'Great Cultural Heritage' series (1975); 'The Ukrainian Gala Concert and Ballet' also featuring the Rusalka Dancers, the Royal Winnipeg Ballet and the WSO followed by the Dmytro Bortniansky 150th anniversary concert with the WSO (1977); and participation in the first of several Associated Choirs of Winnipeg concerts (1978).

In 1978, after Anatoli Avdievsky spent a month in Winnipeg conducting workshops, the choir embarked on its first tour of Soviet Ukraine (Kyiv, Lviv, Ternopil) which brought the works of Koshetz to the attention of the Soviet Ukrainian elite at a time when they were officially ignored by the regime. 1978 also marked the beginning of a period of intense activity that would last for almost two decades. Highlights during this period included the choir’s ‘Tribute to the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra’ concert as well as participation in the ‘Chorus 1000’ performance of Handel’s ‘Messiah’ with the WSO (1980); a second tour of Soviet Ukraine (Lviv, Ternopil, Kyiv) featuring Broadway star and recording artist Ed Evanko as guest soloist (1982); the ‘Family Christmas Fantasy’ concert with the WSO (1984); a tour of Ukrainian colonies in South America with concerts in Buenos Aires, Posadas and Apostoles, Argentina, Encarnacion, Paraguay, and Curitiba and Prudentopolis, Brazil (1985); the ‘Millennium of Ukrainian Christianity' concert tour of western Europe with performances in Paris, Rouen, Liseux, Vangenbourg and Strasbourg, France, Antwerp and Genk, Belgium, and Munich, Germany (1987); the ‘Project 1000/Celebration of Note’ concert in Winnipeg which marked the millennium of Ukrainian Christianity, and featured the WSO (directed by Virko Baley), Yuri Mazurkevich (violin), Nina Matvienko (soprano), John Martens (tenor) and the world premiere of Evhen Stankovych’s ‘When the Fern Blooms’ (1988); the National Millennium Celebration Concert at Ottawa’s National Arts Centre (1988); a guest performance on CBC’s popular ‘Hymn Sing’ television broadcast (1990); the choir’s third tour of Soviet Ukraine (Kyiv, Lviv, Ternopil) which featured a much broader repertoire of national and religious music and also included concerts in nearby Prague, Czechoslovakia, and Warsaw, Poland (1990); the choir’s 45th anniversary concert, banquet and reunion (1991); the world premiere of Evhen Stankovych’s ‘Black Elegy’ in a nationally broadcast concert with the WSO during the Canada-wide CBC ‘Festival of New Music’ (1992); the choir’s fourth tour of Ukraine (Kyiv, Ternopil, Lviv, Ivan-Frankivsk, Vinnytsia, Uzhorod) with performances in nearby Rybnytsia and Rashkiv, Moldova (1993); concerts in Winnipeg and Montreal marking the 50th Anniversary of Olexander Koshetz's death (1994); the Taras Shevchenko concert in Edmonton AB (1995); and the choir’s 50th anniversary concert featuring guest conductors Anatoli Avdievsky and Laurence Ewashko, as well as the WSO conducted by Bramwell Tovey (1996).

In 1992 the O. Koshetz Choir was awarded independent Ukraine’s prestigious Taras Shevchenko Ukrainian State Prize, becoming the first individual/organization from the Ukrainian diaspora to be so honoured. The choir and Walter Klymkiw were praised for propagating Ukraine’s musical heritage and for bridging the divide that had existed between Canada and Ukraine in the past. During the late 1990s, Klymkiw’s declining health obliged him to slowly curtail his activities with the choir. In 1999 the choir honoured his many years of service with a special tribute concert at which Anatoli Avdievsky, Laurence Ewashko and Henry Engbrecht spoke. In recent years the choir has been conducted by Walter Zulak (1998-1999), Roman Worobec and Corinne Villebrun (1999 – 2001), Tetyana Rodionova (2002-2006) and Miroslava Paches (2007-present).

Performing highlights since 1996 have included a concert of choral works by Mykola Leontovych and Paul Macenko featuring the University of Manitoba Singers and the Hoosli Male Folk Ensemble (1997); a performance at the International Society for Music Educators gathering in Edmonton (2000); participation in the ‘Bridges of Manitoba’ concert with the WSO (2003); participation in the Manitoba Choral Association’s ‘Diversity Sings!’ and ‘Manitoba Sings!’ festivals (2005 and 2010); a concert marking the 25th anniversary of the Centre for Ukrainian Canadian Studies at the University of Manitoba (2006); the choir’s 60th anniversary concert conducted by Laurence Ewashko and featuring a number of guest soloists including Andriana Chuchman and Irena Welhasch-Baerg (2006); the ‘Spring Celebration’ concert (2010); the choir’s 65th anniversary gala concert (2011); the ‘Celebrations of Winter’ concert (2012); the ‘Call of the Bells’ concert (2013); and participation in the annual ‘Festival of Ukrainian Carols’.

North-West Line Elevators

  • nwle
  • Collectivité
  • 1899-

This association was first organized by the Manitoba Elevator Operators on July 18, 1899, under the name the North-West Elevator Association. The first Directorship consisted of William Martin, President & Robert Muir, Vice-President. The other directors included R.D. Martin, E. O'Riley, John Love, R.C. Ennis, S.A. McGaw, J.E. Mann & T.B. Barker. The Membership included 24 companies or individuals representing 272 country elevators.

In 1904 the Association was incorporated by a special act of the Manitoba Legislature under the name of the North-West Grain Dealers Association. The membership had increased threefold to include 95 companies or individuals representing 780 elevators. John Love was the first president of newly incorporated Association.

The first ten years were marked by rapid expansion. By 1910 the Membership had risen to 164 companies or individuals with the number of elevators practically doubling to 1500. Five years later 30 more companies had come on board with the number of elevators growing to 2900. Through amalgamation of some of the smaller companies the roster declined to 101 companies in 1925 but the number of elevators increased to 3741.

In 1926 the hierarchy within the Association changed with the formation of the Owners' Committee. Henceforth Directors were appointed from the junior executive ranks or general superintendents of companies but the real power lay with the Owners' Committee. This committee lasted for ten years at which time a Public Relations Department was formed in March 1935. This group chose L.W. Brockington as its first leader with G.W.P. Heffelfinger as the first chairman.

Like all industry, the grain business was forced to navigate ten lean years during the Depression. The Membership declined to 55 companies by 1935 but still managed to represent 3345 elevators. In 1937 the Manitoba Legislature amended the Association's capital stock set up. The old Membership shares were paid out in full at $15 apiece plus a premium of $5 per share. The new capital arrangement called for 20000 authorized shares and 3393 subscribed shares selling at $1 each. A company was called upon to take $1 shares for every elevator it owned.

With the financial restructuring of the Association, came board room policy changes. After 1937 all Directors were now chosen from the principals of the companies. In 1940 the company changed its name to the North West Line Elevators Association. The Association lobbied for preferable rail rates for shipping. They attempted to block line abandonments by the C.P.R. & C.N.R. The Farm Service side of the Association performed grain research through its demonstration plots and seed testing laboratory. At its peak the Association cover elevators spanning the Prairie Provinces & Thunder Bay and represented the interests of most of the leading grain companies in Western Canada. The company still had an administrative board in 1992 but two years later it had come under control of N.M. Paterson & Sons Ltd. and is now dormant.

Oblates of Western Canada fonds

  • oblates_wc
  • Collectivité
  • 1844-

The Oblates of Western Canada have been in existence since 1844 in response to a request from Bishop Provencher, Vicar Apostolic of the Hudson's Bay and James Bay. The Oblates are congregations within the Roman Catholic Church serving as religious communities. The congregation of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate was founded in Aix-en-Provence, France in 1815 and arrived in Canada in 1841. Since then the Oblates spread across Western Canada establishing missions in the provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta. Their primary goal was to evangelize and introduce Christianity to Indigenous peoples. During the settlement period of Western Canada, the work of the Oblates expanded to include the establishment of schools, colleges, hospitals, and other social institutions.

Prairie Theatre Exchange fonds

  • pte
  • Collectivité
  • 1972-

The origins of the Prairie Theatre Exchange can be traced back to the closing of the Manitoba Theatre Centre's drama school in 1972. The school had achieved considerable success offering recreational drama classes but by the early 1970's it was a financial burden that MTC, saddled with a rising deficit caused by recent expansion, could no longer afford to keep open.

When the announcement was made in the summer of 1972, a group of students, parents and other interested Winnipeggers formed a committee to investigate the possibility of opening up a new independent theatre school. This committee became the basis for the first board of the Manitoba Theatre Workshop. Its first chairman was the lawyer Charles Huband whose son David had been a student at the MTC school. Colin Jackson, a former teacher at the MTC school, was appointed as the Workshop's first director.

The Manitoba Theatre Workshop opened for classes on 9 October 1973 in the old Grain Exchange building at 160 Princess Street. This historic structure, which had been empty since 1964, was leased from the City of Winnipeg for $1 a year. Extensive renovations were made with the aid of a $12,000 Opportunities for Youth (OFY) grant.

Like its predecessor, the Manitoba Theatre Workshop's classes were designed for "enthusiastic amateurs" rather than aspiring professional actors. MTW's primary goal was "to make theatre arts accessible and sensible to as many young people as possible." Operating on the philosophy that "involvement, or contact, with the arts is necessary for society", the Workshop hoped to dispel the notion that drama was the exclusive domain of the elite.

In 1973-74, its first season of operation, the Workshop had an enrolment of 210 full-time and 100 part-time students. An infusion of grant money in January narrowly averted a potential financial disaster and allowed MTW to hire additional staff and organize touring programs for the province's schools.

The Manitoba Theatre Workshop initially devoted a large proportion of its resources towards the promotion of drama in both the school system and the larger community. It provided workshops for both teachers and students as well as serving as a resource for corporations, hospitals and other organizations interested in theatre and theatre education. In an effort to reach a wider audience it became involved in the production of "Let's Go", a CKY television program that featured MTW students doing improvisational exercises around a central theme. The Workshop also took over the sponsorship of the annual Junior & Senior High School Drama Festival from MTC.

Many of these activities had to be cut or severely curtailed for the 1975-76 season as a result of CKY's decision to produce "Let's Go" by itself and the decision of the Department of Education to drop its funding for the Drama Festival. The Festival was re-introduced in 1978 and in January 1979 the Manitoba Drama Festivals was incorporated as an official body supported by lottery monies. The festival was expanded the following year to include community theatre groups as well.

In keeping with MTW's educational mandate, its theatre productions were generally oriented towards a younger audience. The Workshop's first shows were student-produced cabarets designed as fundraisers. Canada Council grants were used to establish a puppet troupe that eventually went off on its own in 1976 as the Manitoba Puppet Theatre.
The first adult productions performed at MTW were presented by Confidential Exchange, a studio theatre group of local actors formed in 1974. Their December 1975 production of "Sandhills" was the first show produced at the Workshop under a full Actor's Equity contract. This show was part of the Workshop's first full season of alternative adult theatre, consisting of three Confidential Exchange productions and four touring productions. MTW's formal relationship with Confidential Exchange ended in August 1976 and the group disbanded soon afterward.

The 1977-78 season saw the introduction of The Neighbourhood Theatre (TNT), the province's first professional children's theatre company. Under the artistic leadership of director Deborah Baer Quinn, TNT presented three seasons of high-quality children's and youth theatre. An emphasis was placed on using original and locally-produced material and many of the shows were collective collaborations of the director and actors. A full subscription season was offered for the first time in 1978-79.

The Manitoba Theatre Workshop also hosted numerous touring productions and promoted concerts by popular children's entertainers such as Raffi and Fred Penner.
In September 1981 the Manitoba Theatre Workshop officially changed its name to Prairie Theatre Exchange, signalling a new direction for the company. Gordon McCall succeeded Deborah Quinn as artistic director and David Gillies was appointed as the company's first playwright-in-residence.

The new Prairie Theatre Exchange would offer adult as well as youth and children's programming with the aim of becoming the province's second fully professional theatre company. Its extremely successful first season in 1981-82 was highlighted by a production of George Ryga's "The Ecstasy of Rita Joe" in which all the principal native roles were played by native actors. This fact aroused nation-wide interest and the show was featured on the national news telecasts of both CBC and CTV as well as in a number of other national media outlets. After its Winnipeg run was completed, the show was taken on a five-week tour in southern British Columbia.

An all-Canadian season featuring five world premieres, three of them by Manitoba playwrights, was announced for the following year. This emphasis on local plays, however, proved to be unpopular with the public and resulted in a $20,000 loss.

A new artistic director, Kim McCaw of Saskatoon's Globe Theatre, was brought in for the 1983-84 season. He outlined a new "populist" policy for the PTE that emphasized the production of "contemporary, committed, socially connected work." Under McCaw's direction, the company enjoyed several remarkably successful years and gained a reputation for producing contemporary plays dealing with timely issues. By 1987 it had solidly established itself as the province's younger and hipper alternative to the more conservative Manitoba Theatre Centre. The headline of an article in the 26 June 1987 issue of the Globe & Mail proclaimed: "Prairie Exchange is hot, elaborate theatres are not." For the 1986-87 season PTE announced a balanced budget of $1.2 million, the first time that it had gone over the $1 million mark.

By 1987 it was also obvious that it was no longer feasible for PTE to remain in the old Grain Exchange building. Although the building's historic charm and relaxed atmosphere had become one of the theatre's main selling points, it was simply too small to support a major repertory company.

In November 1987 the PTE announced that it would be moving into a 2100-square-metre space on the third floor of the new Portage Place shopping centre. Kim McCaw defended this somewhat unorthodox juxtaposition of culture and capitalism as a move that would help to bring the arts from the fringes to the centre of the city. Construction began in March of 1989 and the first public performance in the new state-of-the-art 364-seat theatre took place on 12 October 1989.

The new quarters were also designed to accomodate the PTE Theatre School which by the early 1990's boasted an enrollment of well over 400 students. PTE has also continued to offer workshops through the public schoo system as well as curriculum workshops for teachers. In December 1988 PTE was approved as a Teaching Centre by the University of Manitoba.

In 1991 the Quebec director and playwright Michael Springate was named as the PTE's new artistic director, replacing Kim McCaw. Springate's emphasis on the staging of new plays by unknown writers resulted in a drop in attendance and he was replaced in 1995 by Montreal-based freelance director Allen MacInnis. MacInnis announced that a concerted effort would be made to increase attendance by appealing to a wider audience. His first full season as artistic director, 1996-1997, was highlighted by an elaborate staging of "My Fair Lady" and the hosting of the extremely popular touring production "2 Pianos, 4 Hands".

Royal Commission on Manitoba Pool Elevators Limited

  • wprc
  • Collectivité
  • 1931

In 1931, a provincial Royal Commission inquired into charges against Manitoba Pool Elevators Ltd. The Commissioner was E. K. Williams. The charges were set out in a letter written by James R. Murray to John Bracken, Premier of Manitoba, on March 10, 1931.

Intercontinental Exchange Inc.

  • wce
  • Collectivité
  • 1887-

The Winnipeg Commodity Exchange was founded in 1887 by a group of Winnipeg grain merchants as the Winnipeg Grain and Produce Exchange. It served initially as a forum for cash trades in Canadian grains but, in 1904, introduced trading in wheat futures and subsequently added futures trading in barley, oats, flax, and rye. In 1908, the Exchange was re-organized as a voluntary, unincorporated, nonprofit organization and its name was changed to the Winnipeg Grain Exchange.

The Grain Exchange grew in importance with the Canadian grain economy so that by 1929, it played a major part in the establishment of world grain prices and the establishment of the Canadian Wheat Board in 1935. In 1943, the Wheat Board was given a monopoly in the marketing of wheat. In 1949, this monopoly was extended to oats and barley. The importance of the Exchange began to revive in 1963 with the establishment of a futures market in rapeseed (subsequently re-named canola). In 1972, a market in gold futures was opened, at which time the Exchange changed its name to the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange. In 1974, part of the trade in barley, oats, and feed wheat was restored to the Exchange.

During its operation, the Winnipeg Commodity Exchange Inc. (W.C.E. or the "Exchange") was Canada's only agricultural futures and options exchange. Agricultural contracts traded on W.C.E. included futures contracts for canola, flaxseed, domestic feed wheat, domestic feed barley, oats, milling wheat, durum wheat, canola meal, and peas. Options on certain of these products were also traded.

In 1996, the Winnipeg Commodities Exchange was Incorporated by an Act of the Manitoba Government. In 1998 WCE Clearing Corporation was established, and two years later the Manitoba Securities Commission took over regulatory responsibility from the Canadian Grain Commission.
In 2001, WCE demutualized, moving from a member-owned structure to a shareholder for-profit structure. On February 1, 2004, WCE celebrated 100 years of Futures Contract Trading. December 17, 2004 marked the end of open outcry trading, with WCE becoming the first North American commodity exchange to go fully electronic.

The WCE was acquired by Intercontinental Exchange (ICE) on August 28, 2007, and was re-named ICE Futures Canada (IFCA) at the beginning of 2008. Ten years later, the remaining contract on IFCA (canola) was moved to ICE’s New York exchange (ICE Futures U.S.) in July 2018, thereby ending the Winnipeg exchange’s operation after 131 years.

Red River Floodway

  • rrfloodway
  • Collectivité
  • 1962-1972

In 1950, Winnipeg experienced one of the last major floods from the Red River. With 103,000 cubic feet per second of water flow and 30.2 feet above the city datum during the flood, the Government of Canada decided to investigate flood prevention measures for the Red and Assiniboine River basins. On average, the City of Winnipeg could expect floods equal to, or surpassing, the flood of 1950 every thirty-six years. The Royal Commission on Flood Cost Benefit was established in 1958, and it recommended that the best form of flood prevention was the construction of the Red River Floodway.

In mid-1961, at the request of the Province of Manitoba (Department of Agriculture, Water Control and Conservation Branch), the University of Manitoba was asked to perform model studies tests of the inlet and outlet models of the Red River Floodway. After receiving the necessary grant, Marshal Gysi, engineer in charge at the University, searched for a suitable location to perform these studies and finally decided upon the basement of the new Animal Sciences Building. Under the direction of R. L. Walker, project engineer at H. G. Acres and Co. Ltd (consulting engineers in Niagara Falls), the Civil Engineering Department at the University was to test the models with the data supplied by H. G. Acres. Consequently, any changes in model design could be done only with the approval of this consulting firm.

The purpose of the outlet model was to determine if any modifications to the design were necessary in order to prevent scouring at the junction of the Floodway and the Red River or further downstream. Construction of the model began December 18, 1961, and care was taken to prevent any water leakage in the model. In order to test for sediment build-up, scouring, and flow patterns, a number of tests were conducted using different flow velocities and amounts of water. Confetti and dye (potassium permanganate) were distributed in the water and observations were made on their flow characteristics. The final test was conducted in October 1962.

The inlet model was constructed between April 17 and May 31, 1962 and the tests consisted of four stages. Stage I, June 7-12, was concerned only with the river downstream of the control structure. The purpose of stage I was to ascertain what would happen to the river during "high-stage natural flooding." Another determination to be made was to find an artificial method of imitating floodplain roughness. Stage 2 tests, June 26 - July 2, were designed to find the location of the "transition zone and bordering dykes" which would provide suitable "approach conditions" and weaken the effects of scouring. The third stage of tests occurred August 20-22. There were four designs to the diversion canals. One canal would bypass the water flow of the Red River around the control devices during construction, and stage 3 was to determine which canal model would be the most efficient. The final stage on the inlet model was to find the "rip-rap requirements" upstream and downstream of the control structure. In addition, stage 4 was to provide a "rating curve" for the control structure.

Upon completion of the tests, all pertinent data was forwarded for final study to H. G. Acres and Co. in Niagara Falls. In July 1964, construction of the Red River Floodway began with the design configurations supplied by Acres. The Floodway took approximately three years to construct at an expense of about $57 million.

Chronology of Important Dates

Mid-1961. Project undertaken at the University at the request of the Province of Manitoba.

Dec. 18, 1961. Construction of outlet model begun.

Dec. 18, 1961. Construction of outlet model begun.

April 17, 1962. Construction of inlet model begun.

June 7, 1962. Start of stage 1 tests on inlet model.

Oct. 4, 1962. State 4 tests of inlet model completed.

Oct. 22, 1962. Final outlet model test.

July 11, 1964. Construction of Floodway begins.

Canadian Officers Training Corps

  • cotc
  • Collectivité
  • 1914-1966

The University of Manitoba's Canadian Officer's Training Corps (C.O.T.C.) began in 1914 as a patriotic response to the outbreak of war in Europe. A series of meetings were held in September 1914 to organize a training program to prepare male students for active service overseas. The University Council appointed a Committee on Military Instruction which authorized the teaching of military science and tactics. A university corps was organized in the fall semester of the 1914-1915 year with 64 students taking extra classes to qualify as officers. Later, in March 1915, the Department of Defence instructed the University of Manitoba to join other universities throughout Canada to establish an official training curriculum under the auspices of the Canadian Officer Training Corps. Eight companies of sixty men each were formed with Professor E.P. Featherstonhaugh serving as captain and adjutant. In 1915 the Western Universities Battalion was established with the University of Manitoba contributing a company and a platoon. With the introduction of conscription legislation in 1917, military training was made compulsory for all male students. After the war, in 1920, the C.O.T.C. was reorganized by Lt. Col. N.B. Maclean. It continued in relative obscurity for nearly twenty years until the Second World War.

With the outbreak of the Second World War, the C.O.T.C. was quickly revitalized and its membership mushroomed from its peacetime level of 150 personnel to over 800. The Senate also passed regulations relating to academic credits or "bonuses" for students who joined the C.O.T.C. By 1941 all male students were once again required to enlist in a compulsory program of military training. After the war the C.O.T.C. continued to offer military training on a voluntary basis with new modernized and attractive programs, but with the return of peace its popularity rapidly declined with the organization dissolving in 1966.

Alumni Association Inc.

  • alumniassociation
  • Collectivité
  • 1921-

The Alumni Association Inc. of the University of Manitoba was founded in 1921 by a handful of graduates. Their objective was to reach out to the growing numbers of graduates of the University and to sustain their interest and long-term support of the University. In 1935, the Association was incorporated in the Province of Manitoba as a not-for-profit organization with its own, independent volunteer Board of Directors. The Alumni Association operated largely as an independent association until 1958 when President Saunderson created the Public Relations and Information Office. The Alumni Association assumed the operative role of the Public Relations and Information Office and received direct funding from the University.

The Alumni Association provides, preserves and strengthens the vehicle for alumni involvement. One way this is achieved is by maximizing the University's opportunities to communicate with graduates on a regular basis. This communication reinforces the relationship between the University through the Alumni Affairs portfolio and the Alumni Association. Alumni Affairs is a department of the University directed by the Association's executive director. Its role is to facilitate alumni-related activities between the Alumni Association and the University.

In 2001, the Association celebrated its 80th anniversary. In large measure, the history of the Association reflects the much broader history of the University. For example, until 1988, the Alumni Association had the responsibility for soliciting alumni donations to the University. In 1988, this function was transferred to the Department of Private Funding in order to consolidate all fund raising ventures. Also, on May 10, 1999, the President of the University of Manitoba and the President of the Alumni Association signed a funding agreement that allowed for no-fee alumni membership to all University of Manitoba graduates. This agreement was renewed in 2002.

Department of Native Studies

  • nativestudies
  • Collectivité
  • 1973-

The first Native Studies course "Native Peoples of Canada" was introduced at the University of Manitoba in 1973. This interdisciplinary course incorporated aspects of anthropology, sociology, history and economics. With the establishment of the Department of Native Studies in 1975, emphasis shifted to a broader-based study of the development of Indigenous societies. Questions were asked: What are the intellectual responses to Indigenous Peoples hopes, struggles, and vision for the future? What is the history of Indigenous Peoples from an Indigenous perspective?

Today, the Department offers a program of interdisciplinary studies dealing with Indigenous Peoples in Canada. The range of courses includes the study of history and traditional cultures; art; contemporary social and economic issues; literature; Indigenous organizations, health, medical, legal and political issues. The Interdisciplinary (IDP) Graduate Program in Native Studies includes studies in variety of areas such as languages, literature, arts, women's issues, culture, history, material culture, contemporary perspectives, environmental studies, economic development, self-government and land claims.

Résultats 61 à 90 sur 145